Need some help setting up camera location for LPR.

brasskey

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm new to LPR cameras and just purchased an IPC-HFW5241E-Z12E from Andy. I'm struggling to find the best spot. Unfortunately, I have some large trees and other obstructions on the front of the house that limit where I can put the camera. I'd like to have one on the north and south sides, but I really don't have any good options on the south side.

The first picture below is an overview of my house using IPVM showing where I was thinking of putting the camera. I already have a POE camera in that position on the north side of the house, so it would be easy to swap out. The second picture shows that camera view. Issue is the angle to the street. I'd obviously like it more straight on with the cars. The camera is about 20' up the house and about 70' from the middle of the street. The 3rd and 4th pictures show some still shots of cars passing by. Again, I know nothing about LPRs and I wan't sure if this camera would work at that angle and be able to zoom in well enough to capture from that distance. The second option I'm looking at is building a box under that tree on the NE end of the house (circled in red in 5th picture). The 6th picture shows that area looking at the possible camera location (I would mount about 3' from ground to cover that lily bush). The last picture shows the view from that location to the street where cars would be coming. I know this is the most ideal location, but I just wanted to see if the other location would work as there's already everything in place (POE line run, no addition box needed, etc.). No sense in doing all this work if the other location will work fine. Thanks.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score