Need suggestions for camera placement and equipment

basatum

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm a newb but able to grasp / research technical equipment and applications. I've owned BI for several years now but my experience is setting it up with a couple cheap wifi Foscams for baby monitors. That worked great but now I'm interested in adding surveillance to my property.

I bought an Amcrest UltraHD 4K POE Camera, 8MP Outdoor Security Turret PoE IP Camera for the front door. I also bought a YuanLey 10 Port PoE Switch. I am running BI on my laptop which I keep on all the time. I plan on using this laptop for the time being.

I read some forum posts and the newb guide. I understand that the number of cameras to adequately monitor my property is more than I'm willing to buy all at once. I plan to add on over time. I also read that continuous recording is best. I may do that eventually but I don't plan on doing that yet.

I am considering a Loryta SD49225XA-HNR 2MP 25x Starlight + IR PTZ AI Network Camera. Is that a suitable camera for one of the locations I have marked? My house is 500 feet from the main road and I have a long paved driveway. I don't have a picture of the back of the house but it is adjacent to a 100 foot cliff that terminates in a stream.

I read that ideally the camera is mounted no higher than 8 feet from the ground unless it's for a specialized purpose like reading license plates or counting people. I don't intend on doing either of those. The main purpose is peace of mind. I live in a rural area. I don't have many neighbors. I do get a lot of deliveries from random people.

I'd be interested in any suggestions or comments. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.
Reaction score