New guy from north Georgia mountains

Reaction score
I am living the dream. I own an 18-acre hill away from everything. The nearest town has 424 people. I am a SW consultant. I am a prepper.

I have a lot of wild game on my land. The only access to my hill is protected by an electric gate and monitored by a solar powered cellular cam. I also have game cams throughout. My driveway is 1700' and very step. Other than the driveway, I am surrounded by deep ravines.

My need is to have video coverage of about the top 3 acres. I am in the process of returning a Lorex 2K Wire-Free System with 4 cameras. It was not able to meet my needs. I could not get the coverage I desired. I could not get the range.

I just installed a Netgear mesh that reaches all three acres atop the hill. What I would like is more of a CCTV system. I want to be able to monitor my property and detect and record any unexpected activity.

I can get power to the cameras. I have extensive solar/battery power with inverters. BrownBlack.PNG
What I need is range and since the NVR must communicate directly with the camera, I see this as a non-starter unless I can find an NVR that can accept video across TCP/IP.

Specifications:
1. No data leaves my property. I do not want it served by some server in China, Canada, NSA, etc.
2. Am able to see a live stream on my PC.
3. All the niceties like zoom/pan/night/2 way audio/ motion detection etc.

Okay - I'm babbling but I would like to start a conversation about my options.

garycrist

Known around here
Reaction score
Forget 2 way audio from a security camera.
POE switches will extend ones signal/s from cam/s.
WIFI cams typically will not be a good match as bandwidth is limited.

I hope this helps.

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

There is a lot for you to learn.