New member from Pacific Northwest

logbuilder

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hello.

My name is Robert and I am located about 90 miles NE of Seattle in the Cascade Mountains. I'm a southern boy that relocated to this area 18 years ago and have come to love it.

My background is IT starting in the late 70's. Cobol was the first language I learned. My first home computer was a CPM machine. My career was in retail IT and I retired 5 years ago. These days, I am a windows guy. The only mac product I own is an iPod.

I started getting into security systems 7 years ago when I needed a system for my remote home. Here we only have satellite for internet. I used to use HughesNet but they got really slow. Now I use Exede which is really pretty good in terms of speed and reliability. However, I have a 10GB monthly data cap. That means normal video based security systems were out of the question. I found no turnkey system that met my needs to I decided to put pieces and parts together to build what I needed. I decided on WebcamXP running on Windows XP. Later upgraded to Windows 7 and Webcam7. Migration was a snap. That system used analog cameras each wired with siamese cable which has coax and power. I had a bluecherry capture card that surfaced to Windows via WDM drivers. It worked well. About a month ago, my capture card went belly up and I decided it was a forcing factor to get me to upgrade the system.