New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,320
Reaction score
763
Location
USA
Updated Troubleshooting section in DOORBELL 101 with Guarding Vision App info, thanks everyone for sharing your experience...
 

Pilot04

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
284
Reaction score
160
I've had good luck with these Samsung MicroSD cards from Amazon. I've used a 128GB for 13 months now on my RCA HSDB2 doorbell and a 64GB on my previous RCA HSDB1 doorbell for over a year as well. Has anyone tried 256GB microsd card in their doorbell?
1581124487165.png
 

alexdelprete

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
421
Reaction score
650
Location
Rome, Italy
Regarding the SD cards, some days ago I read in some ezviz forum that in the latest ezviz fw (v5.2.4 190211) they added support for 256GB cards. I don't have one to try in order to confirm the news.
 

Pilot04

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
284
Reaction score
160
Regarding the SD cards, some days ago I read in some ezviz forum that in the latest ezviz fw (v5.2.4 190211) they added support for 256GB cards. I don't have one to try in order to confirm the news.
Yeah, I had asked Ezviz support a few weeks ago and they said 256GB is now supported but like you I didn't have a 256GB laying around AND I have no plans to upgrade my RCA to Ezviz FW 190211 at this time. Besides, I primarily record to my NVR so 128GB is already plenty of secondary storage for my setup.
 

alexdelprete

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
421
Reaction score
650
Location
Rome, Italy
Yeah, I had asked Ezviz support a few weeks ago and they said 256GB is now supported but like you I didn't have a 256GB laying around AND I have no plans to upgrade my RCA to Ezviz FW 190211 at this time. Besides, I primarily record to my NVR so 128GB is already plenty of secondary storage for my setup.
Same for me. I record on my Synology with the Surveillance Station module. I put in a SanDisk 128Gb anyway, in case of problems, I can always use the Ezviz app to watch the sdcard recordings. I think that for those who don't use NVRs, it might be good news.
 

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
890
Reaction score
262
Location
Jersey Shore
Yes, I don't remember it being this pronounced with the Ezviz app. I may have to go back and check, or put the Ezviz on my wife's phone and check.
 

LTek

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
100
Reaction score
29
@David L Thx. Mine is far more than ghosting / pixelation... its 100% watercolor smearing across the whole image. I'll get a screenshot next time it happens. I just changed firmware (I was not that far behind) and we'll see if that helps.

thx!
 

CHuntMD

n3wb
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
5
Location
Metro Wash DC
After reading all 125 pages and the doorbell101 I ordered my first doorbell cam. Installed the EZVIZ DB1.
Hardest part was finding the correct breaker!

Can anyone suggest a wedge with more of a angle? The door side lights are narrow so the home wiring comes out at a 90degree angle to the door. I can see the steps and ceiling so vertical range looks good just need to turn it another 15-30 degrees.

CEH in MD
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,320
Reaction score
763
Location
USA
After reading all 125 pages and the doorbell101 I ordered my first doorbell cam. Installed the EZVIZ DB1.
Hardest part was finding the correct breaker!

Can anyone suggest a wedge with more of a angle? The door side lights are narrow so the home wiring comes out at a 90degree angle to the door. I can see the steps and ceiling so vertical range looks good just need to turn it another 15-30 degrees.

CEH in MD
This may work for you: (From the DOORBELL 101):

⦁ Angle of Install; if you are mounting on a side wall of your door you will need a wedge, the Doorbell comes with wedges; 2 angled/1 flat (See HARDWARE INCLUDED: below) If these do not work for you, search Nest Hello mounts on Amazon, they are not a direct fit but can be modified to work. POPMAS is one that several here on this Forum has used.
(NOTE: After I got my Doorbell connected to my network and the App viewing the Doorbell video fed, I used my phone to help figure what angle I needed to mount Doorbell)
 

CHuntMD

n3wb
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
5
Location
Metro Wash DC
This may work for you: (From the DOORBELL 101):

⦁ Angle of Install; if you are mounting on a side wall of your door you will need a wedge, the Doorbell comes with wedges; 2 angled/1 flat (See HARDWARE INCLUDED: below) If these do not work for you, search Nest Hello mounts on Amazon, they are not a direct fit but can be modified to work. POPMAS is one that several here on this Forum has used.
(NOTE: After I got my Doorbell connected to my network and the App viewing the Doorbell video fed, I used my phone to help figure what angle I needed to mount Doorbell)

Thanks for the quick reply. Will look at what POPMAS has done.

CEHScreenshot_20200209-150106_EZVIZ.jpg
 

BeerNut

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 4, 2014
Messages
46
Reaction score
31
@David L I was thinking I would get the Google Nest Hub integration to work...probably should have read all of the 101...haha. I was hoping that it would be like my previous RCA doorbell but now the chime doesn't work and I get a barely audible hum. I would install the booster but of course my ladder doesn't reach. I added the EZVIZ app to my tablets I use for HA to act as my doorbell for now. Overall I'm glad switched to this new doorbell as the old RCA was garbage and would constantly drop out on my Ubiquiti network.
 

BeerNut

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 4, 2014
Messages
46
Reaction score
31
Has anyone found a way to get a still image when not using ONVIF firmware?
 
Last edited:

cw-kid

n3wb
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
18
Location
UK
Hi

I can't seem to get my new Ezviz DB1 doorbell working with Google Home and my ChromeCast device on my TV. The DB1 is using stock Ezviz firmware.

I have a Google Home Mini and its default playback device is set to be the ChromeCast on my TV set.

When I ask the GH Mini to "show doorbell" it says sure streaming doorbell on lounge ChromeCast or words to that effect.

I then just get a black screen on the TV and a progress bar at the bottom and a spinning circle on the bottom left of the screen but the DB1 camera image never loads up.

I connected my Ezviz account in the Google Home app seemingly OK and the "Doorbell" camera device is listed in my Google Home app in my lounge room OK.

I don't have a Google Home Hub screen so cannot test on one of those.

Any ideas why its not working ?

I have ensured "Image Encryption" is turned off and that the "Audio" is turned on in the Ezviz app settings for the camera.

I believe the Google Home / Ezviz integration is cloud 2 cloud and it doesn't just pull the local RTSP stream off the camera into Google Home / ChromeCast. But presumably I don't need to open any ports on my firewall for this to work cloud 2 cloud.

I initially setup the DB1 on my 5GHZ WIFI network as all my GH and ChromeCast devices are on 5GHZ. I then tried resetting the DB1 and adding it to the 2.4GHZ WIFI network instead, but the same issue happens on both. I seem to have a good strong WIFI signal outside on my mobile phone where the doorbell is located, so not sure its a signal strength issue.

A side note I wrote about my Ezviz DB1 doorbell on my blog here and I've integrated it in to my Z-Wave network (Vera Plus) and with Blue Iris to get access to some mjpg and jpg snapshot URLs as I believe the Ezviz DB1 doesn't support mjpg / jpg.

Although looking in the iiVMS-4200 desktop management software under network settings, there is a HTTP port 80 listed in the settings, but I couldn't connect to it anyways.
 

cw-kid

n3wb
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
18
Location
UK
Not sure if this means anything? but in the Ezviz app when I try to enable Live LAN view and scan for devices on the LAN it doesn't find the DB1 camera. I can ping the local LAN IP address of the DB1camera OK and I can locally access its RTSP video stream OK in Blue Iris.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,320
Reaction score
763
Location
USA
@David L I was thinking I would get the Google Nest Hub integration to work...probably should have read all of the 101...haha. I was hoping that it would be like my previous RCA doorbell but now the chime doesn't work and I get a barely audible hum. I would install the booster but of course my ladder doesn't reach. I added the EZVIZ app to my tablets I use for HA to act as my doorbell for now. Overall I'm glad switched to this new doorbell as the old RCA was garbage and would constantly drop out on my Ubiquiti network.
Yeah, sorry the 101 keeps growing. The original goal was to summarize all the great help data collected from this Forum to a sticky. Well we need a bigger sticky :) May need to expand the QnA section to help summarize the 101 :)
 
Top