New to NVRs, keen to learn!

Squigz

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello wonderful people of ipcamtalk!

"Squigz, I saw the size of your post, and I need a short version"

Absolutely: In West Aus, have 15m frontage, ~20m side, only 1 Ethernet port to front corner for POE, no power elsewhere so wireless and battery. Well lit enough. Dodgy ppl around, want to deter, catch / ID added bonus. Send help!
Need 1 IP POE camera for front, patrol and track people coming onto property. Street lights are OK.
Also want 2 wifi battery cameras for side and back. Less important.

"OK not that short. This is an intro forum. Talk about yourself."

Well, I'll start by saying I'm in Australia, Perth to be exact. So all monetary values are in AUD, and have been trying to source from Aus to keep warranties and ease of returns or assistance with complications etc.
I'm a control systems engineer and my dad is keen on photography so I understand most of the principles involved, but I often fall down rabbit holes and end up unable to decide between choices in excess of what I really needed.

"OK, OK Squigz. You're on the intro forum, we want to know how you got here!"

Well my friends, I hope you are comfortable and have a warm beverage.

So, I did the adult thing and built a house, and have been in for coming up to a year now.
We live in a low economic area - but the immediate neighbours are great, but there's tales of people knocking on doors asking for entry at 3am under all kinds of guises, break ins here and there, people whistling to check for dogs, etc.
So... We've decided "hey, cameras would be great! And so started my search for some cheap security cameras that would at least act as a deterrent (light, alarm, and if they stared right at the camera like an idiot for a few seconds, ID).