Newbie Feeling Overwhelmed by Options

ndstate

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello,

I am fairly new to ip cams and feeling a bit overwhelmed by all of the options. I am looking for an outdoor setup that will allow me to monitor most of my property. The dog typically notifies us if someone comes on our property, but their are a lot of spots in the yard that I cannot see from inside.

I am interested in POE options that can handle huge temperature variations (I am in the Upper Midwest). I am not sure if I care about PTZ or not. Perhaps I could get good enough coverage with a bullet or something? I think I don't want anything overly huge, maybe something a bit more subtle (as long as it doesn’t decrease image quality / features). I am looking to cover the following areas, though I will likely roll this out in stages as I get around to finishing wiring the Cat6.

Spot:

#1: Perhaps two cameras right here. One on the front side pointing towards the street and #2. The other camera would be on the West Side pointing towards#7

#2: This camera would cover the door and the walkway leading up to it

#3: Maybe pointing straight out or slightly towards #4.

#4: I may need two cameras right here... though my focus is thinking about pointing this camera "backwards" towards #5... unless I put up a fence near #4 which is what I am thinking.

#5: Would cover the door and the area back towards #6.

#6 & #7: They would each cover half of the back.

Property Layout Cameras.png

Thoughts? Thank you so much!

LeeH

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I started with an import Hikvision 2032 4mm and played around with that. (and a couple of awful Foscams but dont go there)

Once you have 1 up and running play with all the motion detection etc before you spend the bulk of your money.

POE is the way to go so make up a real long lead and move it around your propety untill you get a good idea what size lense you need in each area.