Newbie Here: Need camera recomendation

meschaefer

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi Folks, and thanks in advance for any help. I've been lurking around a bit and soaking up the information. As with most things, you can only learn so much by reading so it's time to get my hands dirty and install my first camera. I figure I will learn a lot by setting up one camera, and I can use that information to make decisions going forward.

I'm looking for a camera to mount to the wall by my front door. Looking at the attached picture, I would like to mount the camera on the wall to the right of the door, so that it is looking forward and down the steps. I want an image of anyone ascending the steps and approaching the door as well as anyone hanging out in front of the house on the sidewalk. The sidewalk is about 20ft from the door. As you can gather, this is a pretty urban environment and it does not get that dark outside; there is a street light on the sidewalk just to the left of the house.

For this location I would like the camera to mount flat to the wall using a dome style camera as opposed to a bullet camera or mounting the camera on an "arm". My first thought was to go with a 2.8mm camera with the idea that I would be able to see someone standing at the door, but if I understand it correctly I may lose the depth of field I would want to see what is going on on the sidewalk. I do not need to be able to read license plates etc. I am looking to spend about $100 per camera, but am willing to spend more if needed to do what I want.

I've been looking at the hikvision camera's. Initially this will be connected to a Synology 214Play NAS, but I expect that will be upgraded as I add more camera's to the system. (I suspect the system will have a total of 5-6 camera's when complete)

FrontDoor-sm.jpg

smoothie

Pulling my weight
Reaction score