Newbie here, purchased NVR, but think Blue Iris may be what I need?

katamara

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello, newbie here. I purchased an OEM Hikvision NVR thinking it would be easy to setup and not have worry about reinstalling OS + software if it crashed.
Well, I've had the toughest time trying to get the NVR to record motion detection, as it only wants to be setup on one of my 4 cameras. And frankly, I've given up with this piece of hardware.
I think I may be better off with Blue Iris. I was hoping to get some advice on what type of computer to build or buy.

Some background info:
  • already have Windows 7 license (which can be turned into Windows 10)
  • have 4 cameras so far. 1 wifi, the rest are wired. all are 720. various different brands
  • I expect to have a total of 10 to 12 cameras eventually
  • want to record when motion is detected. I'd like to be able to 'choose' which part of the camera screen is being checked for motion detection, (via a grid?)
  • Want an email alert sent when motion is triggered.
  • want to be able to log in and see cameras remotely, via phone and PC

If it's possible, I'd like to keep the price of the computer hardware (not counting the BI software cost) to under $250.

cyberwolf_uk

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Hello, newbie here. I purchased an OEM Hikvision NVR thinking it would be easy to setup and not have worry about reinstalling OS + software if it crashed.
Well, I've had the toughest time trying to get the NVR to record motion detection, as it only wants to be setup on one of my 4 cameras. And frankly, I've given up with this piece of hardware.
I think I may be better off with Blue Iris. I was hoping to get some advice on what type of computer to build or buy.

Some background info:
  • already have Windows 7 license (which can be turned into Windows 10) Tick, But you need to specify what spec of PC your Windows 7 PC is.