Newbie PoE question on Dahua Starlight IP Cam

rcx664

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi I just received two Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE cameras which are supposed to be power-over-ethernet compatible. I've never used PoE before, do I just buy a PoE injector and connect it to the LAN network? Will the power go through my switches? I.e. if each camera has it's own cable going back to a switch, and the injector is connected to only one port on the switch will it power all cameras?

Do I need to adjust the voltage on the injector to suit the cameras or is the voltage standardised on POE?

Thanks!

Xeddog

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Two options. One - Use a 12V power supply independent of PoE. Two, If you don't want to use a 12V power supply, use whatever PoE equipment you want. Just make sure it is 802.3af, or better 802.3at compatible. It doesn't really matter much if you use an injector, A PoE capable network switch, or an NVR as long as it is 802.3a_ compatible. The devices will negotiate all appropriate voltages.

awsum140

Known around here
Reaction score
The voltage is standardized. To use injectors the camera plugs into the injector and the injector plugs into the switch. Usually, the injector has a female RJ45 port for the camera, or other device, and a pigtail with an RJ45 male connector to go to the switch. If there's no pigtail a patch cable will be needed and the ports are clearly marked. Each camera will need its own injector, non-PoE switches do not pass PoE power in any way. The voltage is set by the injector and its power supply, no adjustment possible. It is far simpler, and easier, to get a PoE switch. Six and eight port PoE switches are available for under $100. Check Amazon and FleBay. Buying a separate injector for each camera will cost more than a switch once you pass the four camera mark. Trust me, that will happen...video surveillance is addictive.

rcx664

n3wb
Reaction score