Newbie UI3 issue

Toyojay

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello all, been lurking for a while. Having an issue I can't figure out. I'm brand new to Blue Iris, just purchased it yesterday and got rid of my previous software (xeoma).

Have it running very well with 4 cameras on a i7 machine in my office, and I have another machine in my living room I wish to use as a viewing station with UI3, but whenever I try to load up UI3 anywhere (on the same machine, on my other one, phone) I get an error message, the exact same message this guy was getting in this thread: UI3 login error

I've read the UI3 page linked in that thread and I've done things exactly the way it was said there, and still the issue prevails. Sorry if this is a dumb question, or if I'm missing something simple/obvious... just learning BI.

Thanks in advance!

-Jay

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
What URL are you putting into your browser when you're at home on your LAN? It's a local IP, so it's OK to post here.

It should be in format "http://BI-Server-IP:BI-port/ui3.htm", but sub in your BI server's LAN IP and port, similar to:

Code:
http://192.168.1.222:81/ui3.htm

Toyojay

n3wb
Reaction score
What URL are you putting into your browser when you're at home on your LAN? It's a local IP, so it's OK to post here.

It should be in format "http://BI-Server-IP:BI-port/ui3.htm", but sub in your BI server's LAN IP and port, similar to:

Code:
http://192.168.1.222:81/ui3.htm

Awesome, I guess that format must have been the issue. The local IP was a 192.168.1.14 for my BI server, we had a storm last night and knocked out the power for a bit. When I booted my server back up I saw the IP has changed to a 1.9. With the new IP, and that .htm format it worked perfectly. Thanks. Should I change the server IP to static(?) to prevent it from changing like that again and causing issues in the future?