Oh boy........it never fails!!!!

Reaction score
True to form.....as a Cyber/Network Engineer, I just can't keep things simple. We are looking into security camera systems and the more I research, the more I realize I can do my own thing versus just buying something off the shelf. My original plan failed miserably only because I left the tech side in the hands of something else.......ARLO, only one simple word comes to mind when I hear that name now.....HORRIBLE.

So, obviously back to the drawing board. This time my plan was to research what I can actually do with a setup and go from there. I could just go with a pre-built system from a reputable company but that would be way too easy......and would not tickle my nerdy nerve.

I've got some hardware that I plan to utilize for my "little" project:
*Dell R710 w/2 hex core processors and 128gb RAM, running VMware.
*8 port Cisco POE switch.
*Half a spool of CAT6 leftover from a previous project.

What I will need though:
*Blue Iris software
*a few good outdoor cameras, 4 for starters and go from there.
*Maybe a wireless camera or two in the house at some point.

My plan is to spin up a win10 or Server 2012 R2 virtual machine and install Blue Iris, depending on what the software specs require/work efficiently on. I just can't see shelling out cash for a NVR when I don't really need it.

So with all that being said, my quick and dirty idea of just buying a complete system......has now become yet another major project that will obviously take time.....mainly because my OCD always kicks in and I must learn every little thing about the subject I am working on.

I'm sure there will be pitfalls, setbacks, etc. that I will encounter so if you guys have any input, stuff to watch out for, or basic advice......by all means, please feel free to comment!!! I welcome constructive criticism better than most.

In a nutshell, I think that may be it......for the most part.

Thanks errbody!!

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score