Outdoor Ethernet cable, that’s also good for indoor as well

Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
11
Location
Panama City Florida
Hey Guys, I wanting to know if this cable would be good overall. I am looking to run it in an existing house and also to a barn, about 75 ft away for 4 cameras. I am looking to do about 10-12 cameras when all is said and done.2CFD91A1-89ED-48DA-94FC-6D4B7A56215E.png
 

pozzello

Known around here
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Messages
1,907
Reaction score
730
should be fine. one thing you may find is that the outdoor rated stuff is less flexible than the indoor/plenum rated cables, which makes them harder to pull/thread around indoors. so you might want to get another roll of indoor stuff for that (it's cheaper anyways)...
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,348
Reaction score
696
Location
United Kingdom
I’ve used external grade cable even for my internal runs. As stated it is slightly stiffer than standard cable but I didn’t have any real issues or concerns.
 

ipOsX

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 24, 2019
Messages
207
Reaction score
46
Location
England
I wanted white outdoor Cat6 but couldn't find any in the UK. I ended up having to paint black cable - but used white cable indoors.
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,554
Reaction score
5,801
Location
Alabama
That looks like pretty good cable for your application; the only remark I have is that if you have any parts of it with direct exposure to sunlight/UV that there might be an issue down the road, as it was stated in the Q & A's that the jacket was not UV-rated. IMO, since the jacket is PE, I doubt there'd be an issue with UV at all if it's not directly exposed, as under a roof eave or tucked under siding, etc. They went on to state they have similar cable that IS rated for UV, product #15397 for a few more dollars.

All that being said, I think a bigger issue in FL, called by many as "The Lightning Capital of North America", is the threat of ESD damage from lightning by placing any CAT in the ground for 75 feet between buildings, even shielded cable and installed. surge protection.

If you have line of sight, I'd consider a pair of Ubiquiti radios, set up as aLayer 2 Transparent Bridge . If you don't feel up to the relatively simple challenge of setting them up, a pre-configured pair can be had for less than that spool of cable !

At your distance, just mount them plumb, point them visually toward each other and turn the power down probably 50%. Lots of support here and on the UBNT (Ubiquiti) forum. I'm a big fan of wired over wireless but being in your neighboring state of AL I have replaced LOTS of devices damaged by nearby lighting strikes and CAT cable was the receiving 'antenna.' Good, dependable wireless devices such as from UBNT does have its practical place here.

Ubiquiti_layer2_bridge-cams.jpg

UBNT_Vertical-Wall-Mount_med.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
11
Location
Panama City Florida
Thanks Everyone for your comments. @ TonyR, I have seen those and read the wiki notes on them. And yes sir, we have some severe lightning storms here and that is one of my worries. I would like to pick your brain on this more if that’s ok.
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,554
Reaction score
5,801
Location
Alabama
Thanks Everyone for your comments. @ TonyR, I have seen those and read the wiki notes on them. And yes sir, we have some severe lightning storms here and that is one of my worries. I would like to pick your brain on this more if that’s ok.
No problem! But don't wait too long......the grey matter is wearin' pretty thin these days! :highfive:
Anyway, there's plenty of folks here well-versed in UBNT bridges..... @bp2008 comes to mind, for one.
 

OICU2

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
260
Reaction score
51
Location
PA
I just bought 1000' of CAT6 direct burial, shielded and UV rated from ebay, item # 233248491724 for $87.50 and free shipping. It's CCA but should work fine for what I'm doing.
 

biggen

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
350
Reaction score
254
I run a Nanobeam pair at my business that bridges a single camera mounted on a large sign in my parking lot to my camera LAN. I didn't want to bury conduit and breakup my parking lot to run cable and the sign already had power so the Nanobeam was a no brainer. I have network PoE compatible L-Com surge protectors installed at both ends of the wireless bridge.

I have another PTZ mounted up on a telephone pole in a different location on my property but ended up burying conduit on that one running back to my building. I did mount an L-Com surge protector in-line with the Cat5e cable here as well. I'm also in FL by the way.

The only thing I would caution is some of that outdoor STP Cat5e/6 is gel filled. Yours may not be but the spool I purchased was. Its nasty and messy and I wouldn't want to use that indoors. Too hard and stiff as well.
 

reflection

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
143
Reaction score
84
Location
Virginia
I just bought 1000' of CAT6 direct burial, shielded and UV rated from ebay, item # 233248491724 for $87.50 and free shipping. It's CCA but should work fine for what I'm doing.
Just curious - did you have any issues with your CCA CAT6? How long were your runs and were they only used for IP cameras?
 

mrc545

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
44
Reaction score
18
Location
US
I have both ISP and OSP cable. I only use the outside plant cable when I absolutely have to. Icky pic is both a blessing and a curse. If that cable has it, and you're going to be terminating a lot of it, you might want to invest in some of the icky pic remover.
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,348
Reaction score
696
Location
United Kingdom
Personally I’d never buy CCA cable. Again my personal experience but I’ve also found it more fragile that proper solid copper cable.
 

OICU2

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
260
Reaction score
51
Location
PA
Just curious - did you have any issues with your CCA CAT6? How long were your runs and were they only used for IP cameras?
No issues thus far but I just installed it. The run was about 140' in underground conduit used only for an LPR cam.
 
Top