POE Switch Uplink?

catseyenu

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I'm new to POE and am unclear on how they work.
I have a Hikvision 8CH DS-7608NI-SE/4P (4 POE ports).
If I keep it I'll need another POE device for anything over 4 cameras.

1. Do all POE switch ports function as potential uplinks to my network?
Looking at the TRENDnet TPE-S44 Unmanaged Switch for example.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833156229&cm_re=poe_switch-_-33-156-229-_-Product
4 x 10/100Mbps Auto-MDIX POE Ports (1~4)
4 x 10/100Mbps Auto-MDIX Fast Ethernet Ports (5 ~8)
Unmanaged
4 Port PoE Switch
Can anyone explain the difference between the 2 different types of ports?

Would a unit like this serve as well?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/151236976714

2. Running the Hikvision 3MP cams, will the POE switch need or benefit substantially from a gigabit POE switch or are the 10/100 switches okay?

3. I will most likely only need 1 or 2 cams attached through the POE switch.
Any recommendations on a reliable unit with bang for buck in mind?

Thanks!

As an eBay Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
1) Yes any port will act as uplink.
2) only 4 ports supply power POE. The other 4 are non powered standard Ethernet ports.
You dont want that ebay item, it is a passive poe injector not a poe switch.
3)With 4 cams you should be ok with 10/100. The cams themselves are only 10/100. When you load too many cams you clog bandwidth so generally with more than 4 or so (3mp) you would need at least a gigabit uplink (some 10/100 switches have gig uplink). Having the actual switch be gigabit is of no benefit.
The trendnet you linked to is a good choice. Another is this unit by zyxel, which is preferred by some like @networkcameracritic because it does not use a power brick which makes for a nice clean install and it is very reliable.