Re-Install Question

Sam McGee

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to Blue Iris. My first installation allowed me to view my camera at the local computer but hung up before I could view on my LAN or WAN. With permission from Blue Iris, I installed on a second, stronger computer so I have 2 installations. That second installation and/or by inability seems to have led to conflicts with port assignments. I think what I need to do is uninstall Blue Iris from both computers and reinstall on the stronger one only. My question is , what to do with the Forwarded ports on the TP-Link TL-WR841N router. The UPnP ports 81 and 8081 seem ok but under Camera Properties => Video => Network IP -> 192.168.0.139:80 shows and BI says not to mess with port 80 (I didn't but it appears BI did). Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Sam McGee

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Turn off the Forwarded ports in the router, that's a big security risk. Also turn off UPnP as that is also a risk. Leave them off.

I don't understand why you believe you need to uninstall off of both computers.

Go here and study: VPN Primer for Noobs

Sam McGee

n3wb
Reaction score
Sorry to take so long responding. Had a situation.

Let me see if I understand. You do not want ANYONE but you to view your camera. I understand that, after all, it is a security camera.

On the other hand, I want to use my camera as a Scenic view/Weather camera for you and anyone else on the internet. So, maybe you're trying to point me in the right direction and I'm too dense to see the path, but if I could use a VPN to send the camera stream to a "holding pen" to distribute to any interested party, I'm all ears. I would love to not have every Tom, Dick, and Harry on my local computer sucking up my bandwidth but I don't know how.

Thank You
Sam McGee

hmjgriffon

Known around here
Reaction score