Really newbie here, need help on mounting method on a California ranch house

lucrabbit

n3wb
Reaction score
My house is an old ranch style one back from 1950s: open eaves with no soffit. I assume mounting the bullet cameras perpendicularly to the wall is my best option, and I really need some help on the wall/eaves/roof structure to figure out how/where to drill the hole so I don't accidentally drill a hole on the inside wall instead of a hole directly into the attic. I am attaching a picture of a corner here. Any help on Youtube video/construction blueprints is much appreciated!

Attachments

SyconsciousAu

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
My house is an old ranch style one back from 1950s: open eaves with no soffit. I assume mounting the bullet cameras perpendicularly to the wall is my best option, and I really need some help on the wall/eaves/roof structure to figure out how/where to drill the hole so I don't accidentally drill a hole on the inside wall instead of a hole directly into the attic. I am attaching a picture of a corner here. Any help on Youtube video/construction blueprints is much appreciated!
I'd be investing in some junction boxes and the 5442 turrets for that build instead of going with bullets. Even when mounted on a vertical wall the turrets will turn to look along the wall. Even if you went with bullets I would still use junction boxes. It is one of the regrets I have from my last install that I didn't use junction boxes. It would have made replacement significantly easier.

From what I can see there I would drill an 8mm (5/16") through the back of a round junction box mounted on the timber at the top of the wall,

This is the style of junction box I am talking about

I would then run conduit down the wall to a Junction box. I'd paint the conduit and junction box to match the surface it was sitting against.

And then mount the camera on that.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi @lucrabbit