red x in my toolbar icon

Gray Connolly

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
42
Reaction score
2
can someone enlighten me as why my Blue Iris icon in the toolbar has a red x in it???. The only thing I think of is that I have basic subscription. it has only been the last couple of weeks that I have noticed.

Cheers in advance
 

Gray Connolly

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
42
Reaction score
2
I found this!!!!

Following purchase or license activation, you receive one year of basic support. When this expires, the date will turn red, and you will have the option to purchase an extended support key. Use the Add support key button to enter the new key that you receive via email.

So is that to say I will not get any new software updates unless I purchase the $29.95 Extended Service.
I subscribe to the RSS feed for Blue iris and there is nothing mentioned anywhere that I could find.
What do you get for this $29.95 which in Australia is $44 per year???

I have been using this system for 3 years now and 1st I have heard of it.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,381
Reaction score
17,874
I found this!!!!

Following purchase or license activation, you receive one year of basic support. When this expires, the date will turn red, and you will have the option to purchase an extended support key. Use the Add support key button to enter the new key that you receive via email.

So is that to say I will not get any new software updates unless I purchase the $29.95 Extended Service.
I subscribe to the RSS feed for Blue iris and there is nothing mentioned anywhere that I could find.
What do you get for this $29.95 which in Australia is $44 per year???

I have been using this system for 3 years now and 1st I have heard of it.
First the red X has nothing to do with your support subscription...there is likely error blue iris is reporting...see the status page or click on the red X on the bottom right of your blue iris display.
Second, this new support scheme was announced over a year ago via the release notes. To date all updates have still been FREE. That said, the developer is entitled to make money and does not have to keep adding features literally every two or three weeks...So if he chooses to charge for these functions, that is his option.
Blue Iris Support
 

Gray Connolly

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
42
Reaction score
2
Ok then!!!!! Well I guess I got told. I did not mean to offend anyone it was just a query.
Is there a link to said upgrade so I can see what the upgrade entails?? The link on Blue Iris is lacking in any detail at all. P/S hope I am not being abrupt, its just a query.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,381
Reaction score
17,874
Ok then!!!!! Well I guess I got told. I did not mean to offend anyone it was just a query.
Is there a link to said upgrade so I can see what the upgrade entails?? The link on Blue Iris is lacking in any detail at all. P/S hope I am not being abrupt, its just a query.
There have been numerous discussions on this forum on this subject..but it seemed like you went into panic mode and jumped to conclusions before doing any basic testing or investigation..
What upgrade are you talking about? Every single revision is listed in the blue iris help file under whats new...you can see some basics on the blue iris website and more detail here What's New
 
Last edited:

Gray Connolly

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
42
Reaction score
2
I repeat "it was just a query" You change your manner fenderman and Ill change my manner and we can call it a draw
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,381
Reaction score
17,874
I repeat "it was just a query" You change your manner fenderman and Ill change my manner and we can call it a draw
I will not change anything..go back and read what you wrote...none of it makes any sense...
 

OICU2

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
472
Reaction score
359
Location
PA
The red X in the tool bar seems to be part of a recent upgrade. It will show various status icons of which are found in your log file. So it is just reporting the most recent log entry that can be found under the "Status" icon located at the top of BI. (looks like a bar graph with 3 towers)
 

OICU2

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
472
Reaction score
359
Location
PA
Looks like this "feature" was removed with the latest update, because after the update, my toolbar icon no longer shows the status icons from the log.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,381
Reaction score
17,874
Looks like this "feature" was removed with the latest update, because after the update, my toolbar icon no longer shows the status icons from the log.
Still there for me..
 

OICU2

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
472
Reaction score
359
Location
PA
Ah, you are correct. For some reason I thought it also displayed the yellow warning icon for FPS mismatch... guess not.

yes, just tested it...generate a new active error by over allocating storage...
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,381
Reaction score
17,874
Ah, you are correct. For some reason I thought it also displayed the yellow warning icon for FPS mismatch... guess not.
it does show the yellow, but i think only for a certain length of time...not sure..I saw the yellow as well..
 

OICU2

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
472
Reaction score
359
Location
PA
That's what I thought... but the yellow is not coming up for me anymore, even though it does show in the normal area of BI status icons. Or maybe since FPS mismatch doesn't actually log an error in the status log, it doesn't show it, only for actual warnings that are logged.

it does show the yellow, but i think only for a certain length of time...not sure..I saw the yellow as well..
 
Top