Review-OEM Loryta IPC-T5442T-ZE Varifocal 4mp camera (Dahua)

Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
10,978
Reaction score
25,994
Location
New Jersey
^^^ It has to do with Creepy, Sleepy, Crooked, Basement Joe Bunco trying to insure Marxocrats get elected. Grand Witch Pelosi stopped it from happening during the Trump Administration so that the Marxocrats can look good. Basically, it's a check for $1400.00USD that actually costs each taxpayer about $7000.00USD in additional taxes. Really a great deal.
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
2,709
Reaction score
2,211
Location
United Kingdom
^^^ It has to do with Creepy, Sleepy, Crooked, Basement Joe Bunco trying to insure Marxocrats get elected. Grand Witch Pelosi stopped it from happening during the Trump Administration so that the Marxocrats can look good. Basically, it's a check for $1400.00USD that actually costs each taxpayer about $7000.00USD in additional taxes. Really a great deal.
Oh the COVID payoff, understood.
 

mike2874

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
131
Reaction score
21
Location
Harper, KS
So I picked up a IPC-T5442T-ZE but didn't have time to mess with it until now. Looking at it's online settings for Video > Main Stream what settings do you guys recommend?

I'm using BI to handle all cams so in Camera settings > Video > Configure > Make I've been using Generic/ONVIF... is there a better option than this?
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
13,512
Reaction score
17,921
Location
Evansville, In. USA
So I picked up a IPC-T5442T-ZE but didn't have time to mess with it until now. Looking at it's online settings for Video > Main Stream what settings do you guys recommend?

I'm using BI to handle all cams so in Camera settings > Video > Configure > Make I've been using Generic/ONVIF... is there a better option than this?
Bitrate of 8192.
H264
15fps
Iframe 15

In BI setup, use "find/inspect"
Enable substreams in that same window. See help file on substreams.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,208
Reaction score
13,109
Location
USA
Bitrate of 8192.
H264
15fps
Iframe 15

In BI setup, use "find/inspect"
Enable substreams in that same window. See help file on substreams.
What is the latest stable firmware?
 

mike2874

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
131
Reaction score
21
Location
Harper, KS
Bitrate of 8192.
H264
15fps
Iframe 15

In BI setup, use "find/inspect"
Enable substreams in that same window. See help file on substreams.
Thanks for the settings and I don't use substreams so won't bother with that.
 

mike2874

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
131
Reaction score
21
Location
Harper, KS
You should give it a try when you have time. It makes a massive CPU usage difference on the BI computer. Less heat and power consumption is a good thing!
Ok I thought it required more resources to use both a mainstream & substream guess I had it wrong. So I need to have substream enabled in the cam's online Settings but do I leave it at the default settings?

Not seeing where looney2ns said to enable in BI?
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
13,469
Reaction score
25,135
Location
USA
If you are running BI you will want to enable the substream. It makes a huge difference in CPU performance.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
10,978
Reaction score
25,994
Location
New Jersey
The sub stream frame and iframe rates should match the main stream rates, IE 15 frames per second and an iframe setting (interval of 15. You can use the lowest resolution possible or the lowest you find acceptable. I usually set the resolution to D1 but raise the bitrate to 1024, but that's just me.
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
13,512
Reaction score
17,921
Location
Evansville, In. USA
Ok I thought it required more resources to use both a mainstream & substream guess I had it wrong. So I need to have substream enabled in the cam's online Settings but do I leave it at the default settings?

Not seeing where looney2ns said to enable in BI?

Also, Read the Blue Iris help file, it is helpful.
 

78suited

n3wb
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
14
Location
Netherlands
Is there a link with all firmwares and changelog specific for this model? When I use the manual check for online upgrades, it says I'm using the latest one (System Version2.800.15OG004.0.T, Build Date: 2020-11-23)
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
13,469
Reaction score
25,135
Location
USA
Is there a link with all firmwares and changelog specific for this model? When I use the manual check for online upgrades, it says I'm using the latest one (System Version2.800.15OG004.0.T, Build Date: 2020-11-23)
A common theme around here is don't fix what ain't broke. If the unit is working and meets your needs, in many instances an update breaks what you had working and provides you with something you didn't need. A Z12E that someone updated and then constantly reboots comes to mind, and a certain PTZ that loses autotracking with an update come to mind, a Hikvision ANPR camera losing half the FPS and ability to read US plates - those are big deals to have happen. Don't do it unless it is fixing a problem you are experiencing or adds a feature you really need.

No need to update the firmware just for kicks..

But in any event, here is the thread with all the discussions on that camera firmware:

 

spammenotinoz

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
316
Reaction score
240
Location
Sydney
Appreciate thoughts to provide overlap coverage with a ColorVu G2 4k (very happy with), just looking to zoom in on a dark area with IR and get some more detail at Night.
Pricing has gone up a bit now, is this cam recommended?
 

spammenotinoz

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
316
Reaction score
240
Location
Sydney
I'm very happy with mine, but if that's all you need to do you may want to thinking about going with a 2MP cam like the IPC-T2231T-ZS instead, much cheaper and night performance is almost identical
Wow, thanks the IPC-T2231T-ZS is certainly much cheaper ($180 vs $270 AUD). I already have a T5442T-ZE, have to use manual profiles to avoid the camera going into color mode at night. In auto day\night there is no feature to disable color mode.
Wonder if IPC-T2231T-ZS has the same issue. I always have different day\night profiles, but on other cams let it auto swap between day\night, but on this one the option to disable color is greyed out when using auto profile switching.
Might consider one of these as well.
Gotta laugh at myself sometimes, over the years have spend a lot on cameras. But the best bang for buck has been on outdoor motion sensor lighting.
 
Top