Router vs Switch

Sybaris

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
40
Reaction score
1
My system consisted of the following, Cameras-NVR-Router-PC. I had used an old spare router just to make that connection between the NVR and PC. The system was not connected to the internet (WiFi or LAN) nor did I want it to be.

The router died the other day so I am considering getting a multi-port switch. I'm not that familiar with switches but they seem a simpler alternative to using a router for my purposes. Would that be correct?
 

c hris527

Known around here
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
1,140
Reaction score
770
Location
NY
My system consisted of the following, Cameras-NVR-Router-PC. I had used an old spare router just to make that connection between the NVR and PC. The system was not connected to the internet (WiFi or LAN) nor did I want it to be.

The router died the other day so I am considering getting a multi-port switch. I'm not that familiar with switches but they seem a simpler alternative to using a router for my purposes. Would that be correct?
Use a switch, If you plan on adding any IP cam in the future, you might want to consider a POE switch, sounds like you cams get power from the NVR ?
 

Sybaris

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
40
Reaction score
1
Use a switch, If you plan on adding any IP cam in the future, you might want to consider a POE switch, sounds like you cams get power from the NVR ?
Thanks for the response. The cams came with individual inline power units, the correct name escapes me at the moment.
 

c hris527

Known around here
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
1,140
Reaction score
770
Location
NY
Thanks for the response. The cams came with individual inline power units, the correct name escapes me at the moment.
If they are IP cams they might be called power injectors.
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,362
Reaction score
4,164
Location
Alabama
My system consisted of the following, Cameras-NVR-Router-PC. I had used an old spare router just to make that connection between the NVR and PC. The system was not connected to the internet (WiFi or LAN) nor did I want it to be.

The router died the other day so I am considering getting a multi-port switch. I'm not that familiar with switches but they seem a simpler alternative to using a router for my purposes. Would that be correct?
If connected as you said ("Cameras-NVR-Router-PC") and you don't desire Internet, then just assign all devices a static IP on the same subnet (including cams if the NVR is non-POE) and connect "Cameras-NVR-Router-PC", leaving out the router and connect NVR LAN port directly to the PC Ethernet port....no switch needed, for now at least.

That'll keep you going until you decide about the POE switch.
 

Sybaris

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
40
Reaction score
1
If they are IP cams they might be called power injectors.
If connected as you said ("Cameras-NVR-Router-PC") and you don't desire Internet, then just assign all devices a static IP on the same subnet (including cams if the NVR is non-POE) and connect "Cameras-NVR-Router-PC", leaving out the router and connect NVR LAN port directly to the PC Ethernet port....no switch needed, for now at least.

That'll keep you going until you decide about the POE switch.
I had tried that before but must not have been smart enough to get it to work. I'll give it another go.
 

jack7

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
61
Reaction score
36
Location
USA

Sybaris

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
40
Reaction score
1
See if this helps:
Didn't work with the PC using one of the POE ports but worked after switching it to the LAN port on the NVR.

That's pretty slick. I'm running IVMS-4200 but the interface with the cameras is like the Hikvision web GUI instead of IVMS or NVR GUI. I also can access the internet via the same PC's WiFi adapter so updating firmware will be easy. The only thing I might have an issue with is my joystick. For some reason it's no longer recognized.
 
Last edited:
Top