SD22204T-GN Low Light problems

Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
The World
Hello everyone,

We have installed two SD22204T-GN cameras in a bunker where we do non destructive test.

The problem is that when we close the doors, one of the cameras shows almost everything dark.

Cable is new, Cat6 Furukawa, 17mts. Certified 2 days ago. Connects to a TPlink 4 PoE + 4ports. Everything via online UPS.

I know pic is shit but its all I have atm.

IMG-20191121-WA0008.jpg

Any tips on configuration would be great as Im visiting the site this afternoon.

Thx.-
 

SkyLake

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 30, 2016
Messages
317
Reaction score
219
That camera does not have IR build in. It is also very badly suited for low light situations. You would be better of with a 5231R-ZE as a example.

You could install some extra lights, or manually adjust the exposure time. But using a longer exposure time will give motion blur and eventually stuttering. The last depends on how long the exposure is set. You coul try 1/12 on the exposure.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
The World
I see... thats bad =/.

Can you tell me how to do this 1/12? where do i look for it once i access the camera?

Thx in advance.-
 

jimmyatens

n3wb
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Location
Houston, Tx
Is there any light in the bunker? Some IR cameras require a small but minimum amount of light. Some IR cameras have their own IR LED's that can work with 0 light. If you are doing testing in the bunker and would like a better picture quality, there are camera's with ColorVu equipped with their own white light that stay in color no matter the situation.

Probably cheaper than running power cables and installing lights.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
The World
There is a general light system equiped, but for some reason, the test is done without em. I need to visit today or tomorrow and check the exposure thing. Can someone point me where do i find it? or under wich name?

Thx
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
The World
Back with more info.

Tweaked config with each cam following your instructions and got a decent result. Happy enough, I felt like a hacker.

Now.. the problem is that once I watch directly from the NVR, it SUCKS A$S. Going back to each IP and watch directly from the cam, and it looks good. Dont know whats going on.

PIC 1 and 2 from CAM. PIC 3 from NVR. PIC 4 NVR.
IMG_20191128_125905.jpgIMG_20191128_125912.jpgIMG_20191128_135034.jpg

Any idea why NVR is droping a different config than what cams send? Camera config from the nvr side is really limited.

EDIT: "no-light enviroments helps spoting oil leaks" - What I was told by the crew.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
7,949
Reaction score
6,426
Location
Evansville, Indiana
Match the settings in the NVR to what the camera's are sending.
This would be frame rate and compression.
Also, you can rotate the cam so the pic is portrait instead of landscape.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
The World
Cameras are on wall, options I have are 180 and 0º. While NVR shows an option for 90º and 270º, they dont do anything, and inside each camera, can see only 180º. Wish I had 90º there =( - If that is what we are talking about - probably need to get a mount or something.

Ill check frame rate and compression. NVR settings for camera is... lacking. Lots of options missing.

Thx for the information
 

jimmyatens

n3wb
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Location
Houston, Tx
A lot of the time when you view are viewing multiple channels on an NVR you are viewing a camera's sub stream not its main stream. This is done so the data from the camera doesn't exceed the NVR's bandwith-in allocation, so that's probably why you notice the quality drop.

Most cameras these days, if they have IR capability, have a few built in IR lights. I would think your cameras are a little outdated. Any chance you could get your company to replace them?

PTZ IR IP cameras are not too expensive if you don't require auto-tracking software to be built in.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
The World
A lot of the time when you view are viewing multiple channels on an NVR you are viewing a camera's sub stream not its main stream. This is done so the data from the camera doesn't exceed the NVR's bandwith-in allocation, so that's probably why you notice the quality drop.

Most cameras these days, if they have IR capability, have a few built in IR lights. I would think your cameras are a little outdated. Any chance you could get your company to replace them?

PTZ IR IP cameras are not too expensive if you don't require auto-tracking software to be built in.
Chances? None ='( . With only 2 cameras, i doubt its a bandwidth problem. Ill try to go tomorrow and check if there is an option to select the... primary?... stream and also check config in camera /nvr to see if there is any discrepancy.

Thx.
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
7,949
Reaction score
6,426
Location
Evansville, Indiana
A lot of the time when you view are viewing multiple channels on an NVR you are viewing a camera's sub stream not its main stream. This is done so the data from the camera doesn't exceed the NVR's bandwith-in allocation, so that's probably why you notice the quality drop.

Most cameras these days, if they have IR capability, have a few built in IR lights. I would think your cameras are a little outdated. Any chance you could get your company to replace them?

PTZ IR IP cameras are not too expensive if you don't require auto-tracking software to be built in.
Not always true, a lot of the smaller ptz domes do not.
 
Top