Server Based NVR? 12 3MP streams, 20TB hardware RAID6 Server

jbrukardt

n3wb
Reaction score
Good evening all,

Im just getting into home security, but have a pretty strong computing backend system in my home. It formerly served as a fileserver.

Here's the setup:

6 hikvision 1080P bullets
http://www.amazon.com/HIKVISION-DS-2CD2032-I-Outdoor-Bullet-Network/dp/B00HEHBG8M

4 PTZ 1080P Zyzel cams
http://www.amazon.com/ZyXEL-Wireless-Camera-Vision-IPC4605N/dp/B0071N5I3I

Mikrotik 2011 routerboard running the network
http://www.amazon.com/MikroTik-RB2011UiAS-RM-Routerboard-Rackmount-5xGbit/dp/B00DYWE2Z0

Avaya 5520 24 port POE switch switching and providing POE
https://www.cdw.com/shop/products/Avaya-ERS-5520-48T-PWR-Stackable-Power-over-Ethernet-Switch-RoHS/1063948.aspx

Homebuilt Server which I would like to do all NVR activities

4U rackmount
Areca 1680ML 24 port RAID card
24 1TB WD green HDs running RAID6 on the areca
Nvidia Geforce 460 (or 8800, I have options here) video card
Intel E6600 dual-core processor

Software:

Running windows 7, but can run whatever is needed
Have a blueiris license, but open to other NVR softwares as well.

Im worried the server will be too weak to the manage the NVR, solely based on the older dual-core CPU. But i have a lot of auxiliary processing power, the hardware raid card takes all the disk usage off the CPU, handling that processing 100% on card. And im not sure if any CCTV software uses GPU acceleration yet? If it doesnt it looksl ike the 460 supports CUDA 2.1

Thoughts?

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.
Reaction score
So first let me say that I am too much of a newbie to answer your question. But my background is contact center infrastructure and application development, and I am very jealous of your beefcake Avaya switch -nice find.