Server Rack..How would you clean this up?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Tengu, Aug 11, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. Tengu

    Tengu Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Australia
    IMG_20190811_170756.jpg IMG_20190811_170850.jpg
    Hi, how would you run the cables?

    Would you use short cables? say 25cm or less?
    OR
    Run long cables from the switch out to the right and back to the patch panel?

    My understanding is that the benefit of the long cables is that you can pull one device out (like I had to today) and you don't have to disconnect them...

    Thanks
     
  2. catcamstar

    catcamstar Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    582
    Indeed, longer cables can be helpful for rack works, but you'll "swing" them to the right/left side. We did that at work. At home, I punched 20cm cables which are very neat, and enough for "home-use".

    There is no "scientifical" guidance, however google learned me the following quote:
     
    Tengu likes this.
  3. Valiant

    Valiant Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Australia
    I like to be able to trace where a cable goes to/ comes from. Personally I would use short cables.
     
    Tengu likes this.
  4. copex

    copex Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Cumbria,England
    i would remove the cable management, move the top switch up one U, then move up the Cat6 panel between the switches, the replace the cable management below the switch, finally replace the patch cables with shorter ones
     
    Tengu likes this.
  5. Tengu

    Tengu Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Australia
    catcamstar and Valiant, thank you both for your input. I've still not decided but you have both given me something to think about...
     
    catcamstar and Valiant like this.
  6. Tengu

    Tengu Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Australia
    copex, thanks for your input its greatly appreciated.
    I'd love to be able to remove the cable management, but unfortunately the monitor is sitting on it. While I do have a bracket for the monitor, I find it impossible to work with unless I remove everything from the rack. At the moment the top switch isn't being used and may never be, and like you I wanted to put the patch panel between the two switches but the top one does't have ears so its just sitting on top of the one below. I could possibly sit the top one the PC below the patch panel .....
     
  7. catcamstar

    catcamstar Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    582
    If your monitor is the "blocking" factor, you might opt for an (in my opinion wauw but bit expensive) slidescreen solution:
    [​IMG]
     
    Tengu likes this.
  8. Tengu

    Tengu Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Australia
    catcamstar, I've looked at things like that but my cabinet isn't very deep so a lot of things don't fit. Plus its nice to have the screen always "on" so I can view the IP cams.
     
    catcamstar likes this.
  9. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,008
    Likes Received:
    3,849
    Location:
    Alabama
    Cheapest and quickest solution could possibly be shorter patch cables.

    Maybe try a piece of Panduit ducting, black with snap-on lid as below. Choose the size for your need, cut with hacksaw to fit, place below the patch panel if possible or (ideally) lower something to fit the Panduit between patch panel and the switch, tuck excess patch cable lengths in the Panduit duct.

    panduit_patch-cables_rotated.jpg
     
  10. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,008
    Likes Received:
    3,849
    Location:
    Alabama
    Or even better, something like this, found here.

    rack_cable_manage.jpg
     
  11. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,868
    Likes Received:
    5,980
    I know I am not the best one to ask, but if you ask me the only thing to do to improve this would be shorter patch cables so they don't stick out as far. I regularly use 1ft cables for short distances like this. I buy them in 5 or 10 packs from Amazon, and I prefer the mixed-color packs so I can color code things if they are close together.

    If the monitor is ever decided to be too large, there are 1U keyboard/touchpad/monitor devices that slide in and out like a laptop in a drawer. Or you could get an 11-15 inch portable monitor from Asus or any number of Chinese brands. These are super-compact.
     
  12. cage771

    cage771 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    34
    As was mentioned, I would put the patch panel between the two switches and use shorter jumpers. I color code so I know at a glance what is a camera (red), what is standard data (yellow), what is a VOIP phone (blue), what is an uplink (black), etc. Anyone with a bit of network experience can look at my racks and figure out what is what. No need for notes or documentation.

    I need to finish some cable management on the back of my home rack through......its not as nice as I want it......but still have more to add.
     
    0blar and Tengu like this.
  13. Casagrande

    Casagrande n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Use the same (length of) cables.
    Wind them in a loop.
    Hold the loop together with (one or) two tyraps.
    After both connectors are plugged in lay de loops flat to the front by pushing them to the left or right.
    You could bind the loop in that position with a tyrap again.
     
  14. ijdod

    ijdod n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Either shorter cables, or longer cables in combination with some sort of cable management.
     
  15. J Sigmo

    J Sigmo Known around here

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    856
    Often, ironically, making an installation look its best makes it harder to work on later.

    And I've been known to tell people: "The electrons don't care."

    Ideally, color coding and good labeling at every end is very handy. And the velcro and other removable cable securing devices are nice when tracing runs and then putting things back.

    The wire loom is nice, too.

    For me, I want the system to be easy to follow and easy to work on more than have it be a work of visual art.

    It's different for a product where you do not anticipate frequent modifications. But for a network patch bay, I always imagine needing to access and modify things often.

    It doesn't have to be ugly, or untidy. But it also doesn't pay to bundle things super tight so that you end up cutting off hundreds of cable ties every time you add or move something.
     
    Tinman likes this.