Setting up a Remote IP Camera(s) and NVR at a different locations

STEdgar

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello Group. I am still a newbie when it comes to IP Cameras.

My questions is, for our Neighborhood Watch in our small community, we would like to setup Wireless IP Cameras at various locations.

Each location has Wifi capabilities available from various homeowners. Cameras we want to test are Dahua IPC-HFW1435S-W. We have a homeowner that has a Dahua NVR DHI-NVR4216 that we could use as the main recording device.

Is it possible that a camera can be setup using a specific DDNS so it can record back to the NVR at a different location which is not on the same internet location? Or do we need some sort of VPN device at the camera and one at the NVR?

Sounds a tad complicated. Research on the internet has found nothing that addresses our question.

Thank you for any and all responses. Have a great day.

Kevin_Essiambre

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I'm gonna say it before someone else does, Wi-fi cameras aren't the first choice.

Is possible, I would use PoE cameras on each building.

I'm not sure how the connections would work. I'm interested in this as well for my apartment.

Sent from my new phone. Autocorrect may have changed stuff.

STEdgar

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm gonna say it before someone else does, Wi-fi cameras aren't the first choice.

Is possible, I would use PoE cameras on each building.

I'm not sure how the connections would work. I'm interested in this as well for my apartment.

Sent from my new phone. Autocorrect may have changed stuff.
Hello Kevin,

The only reason we are looking at WiFi Cameras, is that (1) reasonable cost, (2) lots of available "free" wifi connections from local homeowners all depending on where the cameras are set, and (3) available local power.

Steve

Reaction score