Small Setup - NVR Recommendation

R. Rod

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm working on a small setup of 3 cameras for an airbnb we own.
I got 3 IPC-T2231T-ZS from Andy and I have been playing with them at home.

So far I have installed motionEye and Zoneminder, which have their pros/cons - I'm not a linux expert but I know enough to make it work.
I have made it very far with Zoneminder and zmNinja; user experience is acceptable but not great - the main pain point I have is not getting notifications on zmNinja (not w/o configuring the notification server, etc).

Reading on this forum it looks like the best is to either:
a) Go with BI
b) Use an NVR and keep branding consistent

While I'm open to use BI, I believe it might be an overkill for this small setup.
If I go the NVR route
a) Which one do you recommend?
b) Which mobile application can I use? iDMSS Plus? Would I get push notifications with it?

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,.
R.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm working on a small setup of 3 cameras for an airbnb we own.
I got 3 IPC-T2231T-ZS from Andy and I have been playing with them at home.

So far I have installed motionEye and Zoneminder, which have their pros/cons - I'm not a linux expert but I know enough to make it work.
I have made it very far with Zoneminder and zmNinja; user experience is acceptable but not great - the main pain point I have is not getting notifications on zmNinja (not w/o configuring the notification server, etc).

Reading on this forum it looks like the best is to either:
a) Go with BI
b) Use an NVR and keep branding consistent

While I'm open to use BI, I believe it might be an overkill for this small setup.
If I go the NVR route
a) Which one do you recommend?
b) Which mobile application can I use? iDMSS Plus? Would I get push notifications with it?

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,.
R.
How is BI overkill but zoneminder not?

R. Rod