Standalone Java app for dedicated live view with Instant Replay

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,170
Reaction score
6,397
Location
USA
The PC you are running it on likely has too old of graphics hardware. It has been known to happen. If updating the graphics driver does not fix it then there is no fix.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
The PC you are running it on likely has too old of graphics hardware. It has been known to happen. If updating the graphics driver does not fix it then there is no fix.
I tried this on my surface and it worked great! Thanks for the info.
 

bignose2

n3wb
Joined
Nov 11, 2015
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hi,
Been using & love the viewer, really good,
Adding the hotkey f11 was something I was just to ask for so great again,

However, I did wonder if there was a way to make this stay on top of other windows, bit like VLC (VidelLan) can.
I use a small window (hence the F11 is great as was really difficult to change size & still access options before)

I have a full screen of something else but nice to have viewer in bottom corner on top of this window in gap not used

Thanks I/A
 

jjhdtv

n3wb
Joined
Aug 29, 2017
Messages
28
Reaction score
1
New BI user. Wow, I stumbled on this viewer this morning. Exactly what I was looking for. Nice work!
I have not played with the viewer that much, but was wondering if there is a way to have the java viewer running minimized until a
camera is triggered - then full screen on the triggered camera for a set amount of time.

trying to have a central pc and monitor displacing pictures (slide show) but pops up BI video image when a camera is triggered (ie front door). Then after a set amount of time
go back to the slide show. thanks
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,170
Reaction score
6,397
Location
USA
Nope, this tool doesn't know anything about motion triggers.
 

robertsig

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
34
Reaction score
5
Hi. Where is the cache occurring when you run this? I don't see a file incrementing in the folder. I want to make sure it's happening on my hard drive as my normal Temp folder is on an SSD. Thanks.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,170
Reaction score
6,397
Location
USA
Hi. Where is the cache occurring when you run this? I don't see a file incrementing in the folder. I want to make sure it's happening on my hard drive as my normal Temp folder is on an SSD. Thanks.
It will be a file "BlueIrisView_InstantReplayCache" located in the same folder as "BlueIrisViewer.jar". It will only happen if the instant replay feature is enabled.
 

Aaron B.

n3wb
Joined
Mar 4, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Would it be possible to include the PTZ options for this viewer to make it an even better client application? I've used your remote live view page and the PTZ functionality still works, but not in this standalone java app. Thanks for all your time in making BI more user/client friendly.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,170
Reaction score
6,397
Location
USA
Nah, I'm not going to add PTZ controls to this program.
 

jlugo

n3wb
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
United States
Hello! I have a bit of a dilemma with BIV. I have three instances of it running on startup and the same instance randomly keeps getting it's configuration changed to the defaults. I fear this is due to disconnections or system reboots, but I have not been able to prove it. Any ideas what could be causing this and how to prevent it?

As a side note, it would be awesome if BIV would indefinitely try to reconnect if the BI server is offline when it tries to connect. Right now it just stops trying if BI is offline.

Thanks!
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,170
Reaction score
6,397
Location
USA
Hi @jlugo.

I too have seen the configuration get reset to defaults, once. I think Windows is at fault somehow. I've seen it happen to a variety of programs before. Used to happen several times a month to my instant messenger app. All I can suggest is to keep a backup copy of the configuration file. Windows' own File History should be able to do this, if you trust it.

I know BIV isn't the most robust at reconnecting. I don't know when I will have time to get into the code and fix that.
 

T_Tronix

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
30
Reaction score
9
Do I always have to type "java -jar BlueIrisViewer.jar" in order to open this viewer? Can I create a shortcut of some sort once I've established connection?
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,170
Reaction score
6,397
Location
USA
Windows can be configured to open jar files correctly just by double-clicking them. You can google for instructions on how to make that happen.
 

ck761980

n3wb
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
I have been running BIV for over a year now, GREAT PROGRAM! However once I updated Blue Iris I was unable to log in using BIV. Any ideas as to why? I keep getting unable to log in using configured user name and password. I know the credentials are correct because I can pull up the cams going straight thru the static ip address. In the server settings for BIV I have the static IP address and port number, exactly as it was when it was working. Is there a setting I am missing in Blue Iris that would be keeping me from getting in? I know it seems like I should just connect right to BI but I like the way Blue Iris Viewer looks Thanks in advance
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,170
Reaction score
6,397
Location
USA
It still works on the latest BI version so you are experiencing some other problem. Sometimes BIV creates a ton of sessions and causes Blue Iris to hit its session limit really fast (something like 100 by default I think) and I haven't been able to figure that one out. Closing BIV and starting it again after a few minutes should fix that...

You can also go to BI Options > Web Server > Advanced and in the "Limit IP addresses" box put ^127.0.0.1 (up arrow symbol followed by an IP address) to make it so all connections from that IP address get admin privilege without even having to log in. That might help.
 

social26

n3wb
Joined
Jun 9, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
LA
It still works on the latest BI version so you are experiencing some other problem. Sometimes BIV creates a ton of sessions and causes Blue Iris to hit its session limit really fast (something like 100 by default I think) and I haven't been able to figure that one out. Closing BIV and starting it again after a few minutes should fix that...

You can also go to BI Options > Web Server > Advanced and in the "Limit IP addresses" box put ^127.0.0.1 (up arrow symbol followed by an IP address) to make it so all connections from that IP address get admin privilege without even having to log in. That might help.
Can you add video stream in addition to the static picture?
 
Top