Standalone Java app for dedicated live view with Instant Replay

Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
I would really like to complement you on making this extraordinary piece of addon-program.
We use Blue Iris as main cam application for security on our nuclear bunker project and we consider Blue Iris to be the best of its kind.
Your clientsoftware is the perfect client-software solution to be able to monitor all cams from several client pc's within the bunker.

Atoombunker
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
We run a blue iris setup with 20 cams. It is a cold war bunker build in 1979 as place to work for max 40 telecommunication technicians to keep all special 'red phone' phonelines in the Netherlands up and running.
The bunker has been operational till summer 2013. Our foundation was able to aquire the bunker from KPN. We completely refitted the bunker with all original equipment and inventory and we are considering opening the bunker at special occasions for the general public.
Blue Iris is our main cam tool to provide us with a view of what is happening al througout the bunker in all the corridors and main rooms and outside. Currently we couldn't live without Blue Iris anymore. :laugh:

Having all the customisation tools like the ones you makes the Blue Iris experience even greater!

Regarding your viewer: How difficult would in be to have the first 2 cams of our entire camlist to show up at twice the size of all the others (since those 2 cams cover the both entrances to the bunker and need a 'quicker' eye from the controlroom? (Somewhat the same as the 1:2 and layout function the basic BI application).

Atoombunker.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,847
Reaction score
11,964
Location
USA
Hmm. I do like that idea. I have 20 cams running too, just around my house (Hello, I'm a camera addict).

The obvious way to do it would be to just mimic how BI does it. But I might be able to come up with something much more flexible if I think about it a while. The trick is giving the user as much customizing power as possible without confusing them.
 

cepariseau

n3wb
Joined
May 4, 2014
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I have an issue in Windows XP Pro with the app. It launches and connects ok but all I get is white boxes where the images should be. It works on other Windows 7 computers with the same updated version of Java. What am I missing? Thanks so much for your help. Here is the script from the error log:

2014/05/04 07:52:19 An exception has occurred in class org.brian.blueirisviewer.util.Utilities:
Connection refused: connect
Additional Info:
URL: http://127.0.0.1:80/jpegpull.htm
java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect
at java.net.TwoStacksPlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.doConnect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(Unknown Source)
at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.NetworkClient.doConnect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.<init>(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.New(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.New(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getNewHttpClient(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.plainConnect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.connect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getInputStream(Unknown Source)
at org.brian.blueirisviewer.util.Utilities.getViaHttpConnection(Utilities.java:152)
at org.brian.blueirisviewer.util.Utilities.getViaHttpConnection(Utilities.java:59)
at org.brian.blueirisviewer.util.Utilities.getStringViaHttpConnection(Utilities.java:231)
at org.brian.blueirisviewer.images.Images$1.run(Images.java:133)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

BTW, the URL of the host is actually http://192.168.1.100:8900 but shows differently in the error log.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,847
Reaction score
11,964
Location
USA
Can you show me exactly what is in your Server Address field in Server Setup?

Also is there anything else in the error log?

I don't have a competent XP machine anymore to test this on, so it might be tricky finding the problem.
 

cepariseau

n3wb
Joined
May 4, 2014
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the prompt reply!

I know this has to be something simple blocking it since it works on Windows 7 computers. It's driving me nuts.

It's simply http://192.168.1.100:8900 with a simple login to the Blue Iris computer of Charlie and password charlie1

Everything else is default.

I checked the HOSTS file on the XP box and it's standard. I checked the Java and it's up to date. I've turned off the wirewall in XP.

I just can't think of what is blocking the images from showing since any Windows 7 machine on the network works perfectly.

I even opened the port through the router and can hit it from my home remotely on a Windows 7 computer and it works fine too.

Thanks for any help you can offer!
 

cepariseau

n3wb
Joined
May 4, 2014
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I tried that and it says to check server address.
It's a mystery because the Java applets inside the Blue Iris web pages will work just fine.
The objective, using your app, is to be able to select certain cameras to view and not have the superfluous information on the sides and top that the Blue Iris pages have.
It's odd that it works elsewhere just not on the Windows XP computer at the distal point that is needing to use it.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,847
Reaction score
11,964
Location
USA
Hmm.

Try this:
1. Close any and all instances of the app.
2. Open BIVSettings.cfg. This is XML formatted so it is easy to read.
3. Right near the top of the file you should see the serverURL setting. See what it says here. I'm guessing it has returned to the default which is http://127.0.0.1:80/
Maybe the app doesn't have write permission where you are running it from?
4. Change the setting directly in the config file to point at your actual BI server.
5. Save the config file.
6. Open the app.
 

cepariseau

n3wb
Joined
May 4, 2014
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I did check the .cfg file and it's pointing at the right place. I will check permissions. It says it's connected but just does not display correctly so that's what's throwing me.
I'm thinking it's something to do with Java security somehow and I thought about removing Java and taking it back to some earlier version. I wish I had someway of troubleshooting it that way.
In the error log it says it's looking at localhost however it says it's connected. But even WAN calls to it from my laptop at home work fine which makes me think it's not a recursive calling issue.
One would think that Windows 7 would have more interfering security stuff than XP but who knows. I appreciate all the help and input. I'd sure like to get the problem solved. I'm getting a headache!
 

BrianAz

n3wb
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
This is exactly the setup I've been looking for. Thanks! Would you like any feature requests to be posted on codeplex? I have a couple small ones that will help me use this from 10ft w/o my mouse:


  • I'd like to add support for up/down/left/right/enter keyboard navigation. Pretty sure that's all I'd need and I'd be able to get EventGhost to load this app fullscreen when I want to view a camera. Then once in the app, I would be able to open the menu, make changes, close menu.
  • I'd like to be able to press a # key and have it bring that camera fullscreen. Push it again, camera goes back to original position. Another, more complex, option would be to draw a border around a camera and allow me to select using directional keys + enter.

I have some small degree of coding ability and am happy to help. I just have never touched Java so I have no idea where to start. I'll start googling tonight :)

Thx
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,847
Reaction score
11,964
Location
USA
I have other things taking my time right now, so I won't be able to implement any of the things you requested, unfortunately.

Keyboard support for the menus would not be particularly easy, though you could probably make the keyboard work for switching cameras into and out of full screen without too much trouble. If I were you I would consider getting a keyboard with a built in trackball or trackpad, since that would give you much more convenient use of your computer in general.
 

BrianAz

n3wb
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
No problem. I'll have a play around and see what I can work out. Thanks for putting it on codeplex!
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,847
Reaction score
11,964
Location
USA
No problem! That is why it is there, for people like you to be able to play around with the source code. It is kind of a complicated project structure, since it is built on the libGDX engine which is a cross-platform 2d/3d java game engine. But I think all the important stuff should be checked in so it should be rather straightforward to import the 3 projects into eclipse.
 

reyes136

n3wb
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I have a strange problem, I downloaded your software but couldnt get it to connect so I left it on the desktop. I then later about 3 hrs. later tried it again and it connected. I then copied the .jar to a new folder and tried to run it. It asked me for all my info again and again it wont connect. Whats weird is that if I run the first .jar file it connects. but when I try to run the copied one it does not connect. I do verify the settings so Im using the right server info.
 

justintime

n3wb
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
First: A big thank you for this. I spent a bunch of time trying to hack my way through the HTML files trying to make something work, but this was exactly what I wanted.

A question: I'm running it now under Mac OS X 10.8.5. I'd like to upgrade to the newest 10.9.x release, but I want to make sure that won't break the viewer app. Does Mac OS X 10.9 present any problems for users? I know Apple did something screwy with Java in 10.9 but not sure what.

thanks again!
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,847
Reaction score
11,964
Location
USA
First: A big thank you for this. I spent a bunch of time trying to hack my way through the HTML files trying to make something work, but this was exactly what I wanted.

A question: I'm running it now under Mac OS X 10.8.5. I'd like to upgrade to the newest 10.9.x release, but I want to make sure that won't break the viewer app. Does Mac OS X 10.9 present any problems for users? I know Apple did something screwy with Java in 10.9 but not sure what.

thanks again!
I doubt there will be a problem. In the unlikely event that it does break, let me know here and I'll see about fixing it.

I have a strange problem, I downloaded your software but couldnt get it to connect so I left it on the desktop. I then later about 3 hrs. later tried it again and it connected. I then copied the .jar to a new folder and tried to run it. It asked me for all my info again and again it wont connect. Whats weird is that if I run the first .jar file it connects. but when I try to run the copied one it does not connect. I do verify the settings so Im using the right server info.
Sounds like your configuration was probably wrong in one of the locations. The configuration is saved in BIVSettings.cfg.
 
Top