Total Newb - recommendation

outfielder

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have never had anything to do with camera's before, so I hope you'll excuse my most likely basic of questions.

We just bought a house and I'd like to install 1 X security camera at the front that catches the entrance to the front door and the driveway at the side of the house (same point almost). The distance from the camera would be between 10 and 20 meters.

A preference would also be to read car number plates. The house is at the end of a cul-de-sac. Where cars need to turn around. This point is roughly 30m from the camera.

Would the DS-2CD2332-I suit my needs, or could someone recommend something else if there is a better solution?

Many thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

PSPCommOp

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
You're gonna want two different cameras. Search for ALPR systems on here. Not necessarily the whole setup but the parts about the cameras. For license plates to be clear at that distance and on moving vehicles you'll want a much bigger lens then what you will for the door. Think 25mm or so maybe more. You'll also have to dedicate some time to tweaking the settings on that camera too.

For the door, a 2332 will work but i would recommend a 2342. I started with a 4mm lense on the 4MP turret and then swapped out to a 6mm lense on a 2332. The picture quality, especially at night was better with the 4mp in my opinion. I didn't think i could say no to the price of the 2332 at the time (they also didn't make the 2342 with a 6mm lense which is what i wanted). I was wrong, i wish i stayed with the 2343. The price difference at this point between a 2332 and 2342 shouldn't be huge if you shop around and are patient for sales. Also, stay away from 2.8mm, they provide very poor facial detailing unless very close. I wouldn't go lower then 4mm.

outfielder

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks very much for the feedback.