Trying to understand Web Viewing of clips

owenmpk

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello Gang and thanks for being here, I am new to the security camera world so on a steep learning curve.
I have setup a system using BI and working through kinks with Ken but this is a question that it do not want to bother Ken with.
I now have a month of recordings from Analog Cameras and 9 IP cameras and took like when viewing from the web i can only see clips that are stored on the local hard drive not on the NAS which holds the Storage folder.
Am i correct or is something not working / setup correctly.
I can view both areas with no issues from within BI on the local system.
Also when accessing from the web I am using an account with Administrator permissions.

thanks

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Is your NAS mapped to a local drive letter or are you accessing it through a UNC path (//server/folder/file)? If it is mapped to a local drive letter it should not behave any differently than local storage.

owenmpk

n3wb
Reaction score
The NAS is setup as a UNC path as Ken suggested because the i am writing direct to disk on the local C: drive.
So this may be the issue?

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
yeah, might try it to a mapped drive and see if the behavior changes.. with the UNC path it knows its on a network, there may be problems with this and thats why he wants you to use UNC as he can detect its on the network and disable some problematic functionality.

owenmpk

n3wb
Reaction score
I had to change to the UNC name because i am running BI as a service
From Ken
If running as a service it needs to be able to access this drive … use you should the UNC name instead and then set the service to run under your own account instead of “LocalService”

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score