Turning camera on-off (and other command) with http command, possible?

klauscla

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, I am not a programmer, so pardon me if I use not the correct terminology.

I wish to control some function of my Hikvision cams through http, for example in another forum for other cameras they turn on camera motion detection sending this command from a linux machine
"/usr/bin/curl --basic --user username:password GET 'http://camera_ip/adm/set_group.cgi?group=EVENT&event_trigger=1'"

and this for turning off
"/usr/bin/curl --basic --user username:password GET 'http://camera_ip/adm/set_group.cgi?group=EVENT&event_trigger=0'"

I wanted to do the same for my Hikvision cameras and the following commands
Line Crossing Detection ON OFF
Motion Detection ON OFF
Camera ON OFF (start or stop streaming)
Recording ON OFF

Are the above commands available?

StewartM

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Yes, some of the commands you are looking for are available. You will have to do some digging to get the others working.
I'm using curl for Windowsin this example.
First, make sure you have WEB Authentication set to digest/basic on the camera.
upload_2019-5-24_13-47-16.png
Extract the curl.zip file you downloaded to C:\curl
Open a command prompt and navigate to the curl folder.
Line Crossing:
Create a xml file in the curl folder called lineCrossing_off.xml with the following in the body (amend the id to the camera's):
<LineDetection>
<id>1</id>
<enabled>false</enabled>
</LineDetection>

Amend and run the following:
curl -T lineCrossing_off.xml upload_2019-5-24_14-0-57.png

Motion Detection:
As before, create a xml file in the curl folder called motionDetection_off.xml
<MotionDetection xmlns="" version="2.0">
<enabled>false</enabled>
<MotionDetectionLayout version="2.0">
</MotionDetectionLayout>
</MotionDetection>

curl -T motionDetection_off.xml upload_2019-5-24_14-10-43.png