Turret Camera

macster2075

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I got 3 Amcrest 5MP POE cameras free, IP5M-T1179EW-28MM.
I have never used turret cameras before.

I believe my current cameras are about 3.6mm and the image is so much closer in comparison..which I actually prefer than this 2.8mm.
But since I got them for free I might as well use them.

Is there a way to make the 2.8mm lens look similar to the 3.6 without changing the location of the camera?

I've tried changing the resolution, but it just stretches the image.

My other question is. can I mount this camera on the side of the wall instead of the ceiling/eves?
Are there pros and cons of mounting it one way vs the other?

EDIT
My current cameras have 130 field of view.. these new ones have 103.. so my old cameras have a closer look, but wider angle?

Last edited:

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
The focal length (mm) is in direct proportion to how wide angle it is (smaller mm) versus how narrow the field of view is (higher mm). The higher the mm, the closer the object appears - and how you are able to make objects further away more clear is with a higher optical zoom. Not digital zoom.

You would have to move the camera closer to get the same "size" of an object between a 3.6 versus 2.8mm.

Any other adjustments you make are digital in nature and would degrade the overall quality. You would be essentially digital zooming a 2.8mm to a 3.6mm and the image will be poor.

Yes, you can mount the camera on the side, upside down, right side up.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
Field of view is a product of lens and sensor size. Changing resolution does not effect focal length. The only way to change the focal length is to take them apart and install new lenses. Probably a lot of work to say the least.