using multiple monitors to control BI ?

Joined
Sep 1, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Spain
hello
I am wondering if I can see and control cameras with BI from several locations.
In reality I ONLY need to control BI features and BI itself, from my protected room in the basement BUT it would be nice to be able to see, select and control the cameras from my wife´s and my cellphones AND the large 4K monitors/TVs around the house (living room, my office and main dorm) and Just see them on them.

Is there a way to do that in a way that is safe ?
Thanks
eduardo
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,165
Reaction score
7,841
Location
USA
Running at 4K, you will probably want a discrete graphics card (GT 1030 at least) as it will reduce the CPU consumption to render Blue Iris at such high resolution.

Then there are several ways to get the video distributed. One way is to buy an HDMI splitter that duplicates the video signal to multiple outputs. You can use active USB extenders to feed wireless keyboard/touchpad/mouse etc in different parts of the house, if desired. Extending HDMI 2.0 @ 4K@60hz over longer distances than about 10 meters gets pricey, requiring HDMI signal boosters or cables specifically designed for longer distance transmission. Some cables utilize fiber optics or built-in signal boosters to achieve this.

On phones you'll need to use the Blue Iris app or UI3 (built-in web interface). You could also load UI3 on TVs, either running directly on the TV (if it is new enough) or via an attached device with a web browser, and this would avoid the need to run more cables. But it doesn't offer 100% full control like you get from the local console connected directly by HDMI + USB.
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,184
Reaction score
399
hello
I am wondering if I can see and control cameras with BI from several locations.
In reality I ONLY need to control BI features and BI itself, from my protected room in the basement BUT it would be nice to be able to see, select and control the cameras from my wife´s and my cellphones AND the large 4K monitors/TVs around the house (living room, my office and main dorm) and Just see them on them.

Is there a way to do that in a way that is safe ?
Thanks
eduardo
You would want a HDMI splitter. This company makes a nice one that is inexpensive - you can mirror 4 monitors from original source:
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FBZ02C0

How far is your monitor? If 50ft you can run a 50ft HDMI cable. (50ft is max for HDMI cables):
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B011LT1O8K

If it is more than 50 ft you need something like this and run 2 ethernet wires to view the monitor:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007NHHLA0

Now to run a mouse you need to run Ethernet wire and use this:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CZC8728

I use USB ethernet and with a 4 port USB so I can transfer files (firmware) use my mouse all at the same time. I never touch my main BI machine:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JX1ZS5O/
 

Rakin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
166
Reaction score
92
Location
US
I have a graphics card that will run 3 monitors that can be duplicated even though it says it can only handle 2. I pulled hdmi cables and display port cables through the attic to the monitors. I have pulled usb cables also with hidden dongles for wireless keyboard. What I’ve found is usually I will just throw some feeds on the monitor or monitors I want so I can see live feeds if I want. Any playback I go to my main station. I keep all my computers and media equipment in a media closet.
 

Rakin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
166
Reaction score
92
Location
US
Very interesting. I will measure and see if 50 feet will do it.
Keep in mind the hdmi signal weakens with distance. I am using Twisted Veins brand of hdmi and can get 1440p at 75hz no problem. Not sure about 4K but I doubt 4K will work at anything 50’


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Top