IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Version 5 bugs and issues

beepsilver

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
462
Reaction score
155
Location
Nebraska
From your BI properties window > About tab > Email support. Paste the info at the top of your email, then use the address given in that info.
 

beepsilver

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
462
Reaction score
155
Location
Nebraska
Ver 5.0.0.52 x64 seems to have negatively affected cameras that override the global schedule--for me, symptoms include cam going to wrong profile and failing to terminate at the specified time.

Restarting the cam, or clicking ok in cam properties puts the cam back on the right profile temporarily. Restarting BI will bring those cams up on the wrong profile. Note sent to Ken.
 
Last edited:

Tinman

Getting comfortable
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
625
Reaction score
473
Well, I'm a happy camper as I have my snapshot icon back on playback of clips :)
 

tech101

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
239
Reaction score
276
Location
SF BayArea (East Bay)
I am stuck in Demo Mode.. So what keeps happening is my demo pop up comes back and seems like reset things to 15 days trial thing.. I did follow ken instruction by going to regedit and deleting one of the A1 registry key..


Need a fix for this anyone has any other ideas ?
 

morrisky

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 30, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
36
Were the issues with disappearing zones/profiles/etc fixed in the current version? Any major bugs in the current version? Thinking about going through with an upgrade now if most of the major issues are resolved.
 

Apollo

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Messages
41
Reaction score
14
Were the issues with disappearing zones/profiles/etc fixed in the current version? Any major bugs in the current version? Thinking about going through with an upgrade now if most of the major issues are resolved.
There are definitely still some issues. The pixelation issue comes and goes with no discernible pattern. The UI occasional stops working correctly (frames can't be maximized, or UI PZT controls appear on frames that don't have PZT). I've also had issues with zone motion detection not working on one camera as expected, bit that could just be me. I also had a disappearing zone (actually, a zone replaced by a zone that filled the entire frame).
 

morrisky

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 30, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
36
There are definitely still some issues. The pixelation issue comes and goes with no discernible pattern. The UI occasional stops working correctly (frames can't be maximized, or UI PZT controls appear on frames that don't have PZT). I've also had issues with zone motion detection not working on one camera as expected, bit that could just be me. I also had a disappearing zone (actually, a zone replaced by a zone that filled the entire frame).
Gotcha thanks. Maybe I'll wait a little bit longer, don't want to mess with disappearing zones.
 

Apollo

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Messages
41
Reaction score
14
Gotcha thanks. Maybe I'll wait a little bit longer, don't want to mess with disappearing zones.
Yeah, and it happened again right after I posted my previous comments.
 

TaperCrimp

n3wb
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
San Francisco, CA
Has anyone else noticed that alert snapshots are no longer refreshing? If I'm looking at my alert snapshots and a camera triggers, the list of alerts does not update. However, if I click something or change from "Alerts" to "All" and back, they'll then show up again. This was also referenced in the other Blue Iris forum.
Replying to my own comment: I fixed this by completely nuking my installation. There were artifacts going back to the original version of BI 4, complete with 32- and 64-bit components. Purged everything, removed all orphaned files and registry keys, reinstalled BI 5, and everything is working as expected. There must have been something on the system that was screwing it up. Fortunately I only have 5 cameras so it didn't take that long.
 

Apollo

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Messages
41
Reaction score
14
Replying to my own comment: I fixed this by completely nuking my installation. There were artifacts going back to the original version of BI 4, complete with 32- and 64-bit components. Purged everything, removed all orphaned files and registry keys, reinstalled BI 5, and everything is working as expected. There must have been something on the system that was screwing it up. Fortunately I only have 5 cameras so it didn't take that long.
I think that's where I find myself also. Did you have to deactivate your license key first? I don't want to prevented from using the software at all because my license key is not recognized on a fresh install.
 

morrisky

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 30, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
36
Looks like 5.0.0.53 was released. Any idea what was fixed?

Wish changelogs were posted in the help file or something. Any way to hit the check updates API directly to get the info it shows there? I haven't been able to been able to figure out the endpoint lol.
 

tech101

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
239
Reaction score
276
Location
SF BayArea (East Bay)
Thank you everyone. So ken was able to remote in today into my machine earlier today. And found a bug and he fixed it.. wonder if that was which was fixed in this release lol. Anyways It was basically causing me to stay stuck in endless loop of demo mode. He fixed it earlier in the morning for me.


Once again thank you ken and blueiris. I love the software. I absolutely missed it during the days it was not working the way it was designed to work as..


Finally My blueiris is working properly ... Thank you everyone !
 

Skinny1

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 10, 2016
Messages
85
Reaction score
10
I installed Blue Iris V5 yesterday and it removed my Intel hardware acceleration settings. Should it be set to Intel or Intel +VideoPostProc or Nvidia NVDEC? I have a Intel I&-6700 CPU with a Intel Graphics
 

beepsilver

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
462
Reaction score
155
Location
Nebraska
I installed Blue Iris V5 yesterday and it removed my Intel hardware acceleration settings. Should it be set to Intel or Intel +VideoPostProc or Nvidia NVDEC? I have a Intel I&-6700 CPU with a Intel Graphics
Find out which one gives you the best CPU usage. Also, If you use VPP, look for a line of pixelation at the border of your live view. If you have the pixelation, don't use VPP, otherwise you should be fine. You should do all this before setting up motion zones because making VPP changes will reset your motion zones--at the very least export your BI and/or camera settings to restore if you don't like the changes.
 

Apollo

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Messages
41
Reaction score
14
I think that's where I find myself also. Did you have to deactivate your license key first? I don't want to prevented from using the software at all because my license key is not recognized on a fresh install.
I bit the bullet and did a full wipe and fresh reinstall of 5.0.0.53. Removing all the registry entries was like killing a hydra. I had to change the permissions for some of the children of the main key in order to delete them.

So far, it's working pretty smoothly, however my motion zones on one camera spontaneously disappeared. I can determine what's causing it, but it seems like it may happen after a trigger event.
 
Top