Video stopped working

Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
7
Location
Atlanta
I just set up my new IPC-T5442T-ZE camera today. I haven't done much more than set the IP.

Video was working in the browser, but when I came back from dinner it was not. I'm not sure what's going on. I know the camera is streaming successfully. I can hear audio, and if I zoom, I can hear the camera working.

Any ideas?

2020-12-15_19-07-42.png
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
6,712
Reaction score
9,881
Location
USA
Try logging out and back in. And if that doesn't work, then change the codec to H264 to H265 or vice versa.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
7
Location
Atlanta
I did try re-logging. That did not work. I rebooted the VM hosting the browser and video was restored. This makes me think something went haywire with the browser plugin.
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
6,712
Reaction score
9,881
Location
USA
Yeah - these cameras can get a little buggy sometimes that way. I have one camera running H265 codec that I view on an older computer just fine, but on my newer computer it won't show an image unless I drop it to H264.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
7
Location
Atlanta
Is there a better or more stable playback method? I haven't set up BI yet. I tried to install and run Smart PSS but that didn't seem to work. I don't know if it's even a good idea to trust that software...
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
6,712
Reaction score
9,881
Location
USA
The camera GUI will always log off with inactivity and then it looks like it is working, but a logout and maybe close the browser is needed. I didn't like Smart PSS and quickly uninstalled and went to Blue Iris and haven't looked back. I was an NVR person previously but found it to be too quirky to work with. But many people here love NVRs as well and comes down to personal preference.
 

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
8,665
Reaction score
18,717
Location
Florida USA
SmartPSS works great a as a viewer and for playback/downlaods.

Just dont install the VMS module upon installation

I use it at 6 locations now.
 

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
8,665
Reaction score
18,717
Location
Florida USA
I tried installing it on a Windows server VM and it would not launch. What kind(s) of OS do you use?
Windows 10 and 7

Watching 20 cameras on one now and 26 on another. I keep it running on the windows 10 machine all day


This is on my Windows 7 laptop, I usually keep it running in the background in the evenings between 6 and midnight while I play on IPCT ;)
Feeds from 5 NVR's 4 of them remote

smartpssview-2.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
7
Location
Atlanta
I've tried several iterations with VLC and keep getting an error saying "Your input can't be opened"

I have enabled RTSP over TLS. I've also switched the encoding to H.264, though I'm not sure if that actually matters. What else do I need to do?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
7
Location
Atlanta
view in VLC as well. rtsp:/admin:yourpassword@x.x.x.x:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&subtype=0&unicast=true&proto=Onvif
I played with this quite some time last night and didn't have any success.

  • I've verified that port 554 is open
  • I've tried enabling/disabling "RTSP over TLS" -- if disabled, VLC will continuously prompt me for credentials even though I have them in the URL
  • I made sure that the streams are encoding with H.264.
  • I've made sure that the bitrate is 4096 or less (i.e., the sub-stream is much less)
  • I've tried enabling/disabling ONVIF authentication.

I suspect I am simply running up against my own ignorance and lack of experience with these settings. Any advice?
 
Last edited:

chaosengine

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 11, 2017
Messages
131
Reaction score
70
Location
Germany
if disabled, VLC will continuosly prompt me for credentials even though I have them in the URL
Maybe a too complex password, compare settings:
Capture.PNG
Network --> Access Platform -> ONVIF -> Authentification = "On"
System --> Account -> Onvif User --> check user & pass
System --> Safety -> System Service -> ONVIF = "Enable"
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
6,712
Reaction score
9,881
Location
USA
Make sure that the user/pw you are using shows up under ONVIF account too in the system tab. Most do not see that, but if you are using anything other than the initial set-up of the camera, the current user/pw might not be in there. I learned that one the hard way spending hours trying to figure out why something wasn't working! Also, do not use the @ in a passwords as many of these platforms use that to pass on info.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
7
Location
Atlanta
Huh! Funnily enough right after posting this morning I did get a stream going in VLC. I'll post here a bit later on the settings I manipulated, and what I have found to work or not.
 
Top