VPN setup questions

MonitorMyHome

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello

While I work in tech, I'm a developer and rarely work with the network setup. I know enough about VPNs because of my job (and yes I've read the primer as well). Unfortunately I have an old school Verizon Modem/Router that cannot be easily replaced. So... I have some questions.

First my current network topology. I have a crappy old Verizon ActionTec ancient router at the perimeter of my home network. Most of my devices are NOT connected there except my Google Wifi. Everything else is connected to Google Wifi via a router acting as a switch.

Given this setup, this is what I believe I need to do:
1) Setup the router to port forward to a VPN server
2) Put a VPN server between my ActionTec and GoogleWifi

I think that's about all I need to quite honestly. Given I got this right, here is my question. Will a raspberry pi with OpenVPN be the best option or can I run something that supports L2TP/IPSec? I prefer not to use client apps so L2TP is my preference but it's not a very strong one.

Sorry for the bolding but those are basically the highlights.

Thanks
Sam

whoami ™

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
If you like the idea of being able to use L2TP, you can use SoftEther VPN server. SoftEther is a Open Source multi-protocol VPN software. It clones OpenVPN, SSTP, and L2TP. It also has its own protocol which uses Ethernet over https aka ssl over tcp port 443. It can cut through any fire wall and is undetectable as a VPN to deep packet inspection. It'd be like using Stunnel with OpenVPN and having OpenVPN listening on TCP 443 instead of UDP 1194 and using syntax -mssfix max to get a MTU of 1500.