Weird IP Confusion With Blue Iris 5?

XrayDoc88

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I am a relatively surveillance noob and learning to use Blue Iris 5. I have a dedicated local computer running BI5. So far I have only added one wireless video doorbell to Blue Iris. It is a Nelly's Security DB-1, but it's made by Hikvision. Before adding the doorbell to BI5, I was already using a Hikvision app for live remote viewing and to store video on a micro SD card. I've done no port forwarding and I can view my front porch on my cell phone anywhere. Once I purchase the BI app for the cell phone, I don't plan on using the Hikvision app. But this is what's weird to me.

In BI5 on the web server page, under "local, internal (LAN) access" it shows and "interfaces" same public IP. The drop down menu for "interfaces" also lists the local IP address of my dedicated computer, but it wasn't chosen. Both public IP addresses were entered by BI5 when I added the doorbell. I believe I can (and should) override these two entries with the true local IP address of my computer. But I'm trying to understand why these public IP addresses might be filled in automatically. Do you think these public IPs might be the relay server that my Hikvision app connects to in order to show me live video when I'm away from home? Is there another explanation? I do not believe my home network has been hacked. When I did an IP location search however, it did list the IP address as being in Iran. :wow::wow::wow:

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score