What is the ideal bitrate / frame rate for DS-2CD2342WD-I 4MM ?

GKL

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Okay, finally got my camera set up as far as being able to see live view both over my LAN WIFI as well as a remote view thru our window phones data connection.

Now before I install my camera outside I wanted to see how I can improve the live feed.

I notice that when I move my hand in front of the camera there is a delay in seeing the movement on the live view screen, it's like it moves in slow motion compared to real life.

I have been trying to research this but being a noob I want to be sure before trying all kinds of stuff.

From what I read adjusting the bitrate and/or frame rate can help. Not sure if the resolution needs adjusted too.

What is the ideal bitrate and/or frame rate to have a smooth responsive live view without a delay and slow motion type effect ?

Here is the specs for my DS-2CD2342WD-I 4MM

http://www.hikvision.com//uploadfile/image/10147_NInformationProductInformation05DSDATASHEETSVPValuePlusVPDS2CD2342WDI122116NA.pdf

Megapixels: 4.0
Video Compression: H.264+/H.264/MJPEG
Max. Image Resolution (pixels): 2688x1520
Frame Rate (fps): 20 @ 2688x1520, 30 @ 1920x1080, 1280x720
Multi-Streaming: Dual

one customer review on Amazon said:

"Very happy with this camera line so far. I own both the 2.8 and 4 versions. The night vision is good, but not great....but for the price I am very content with them. The resolution is great, even at 10 frames per second and 3-4k stream."

Anyhow, any suggestions are appreciated !

Also, I thought I knew how to view and adjust the bitrate and frame rate but can't remember what I did to access that.

Thanks,

Gary

Philip Gonzales

Getting comfortable
Reaction score