What software do you use for backup?

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
I used to run crashplan when they had a home edition. It was a great value because it was basically unlimited offsite backup for multiple machines at a low price. When that went away I could not find anything comparable for even close to the old price.

So I've been using Macrium Reflect paid versions for a few years now. It has been very reliable. No surprise corruption or anything whenever I have needed to restore something. The paid version is a lot better than the free edition because it allows incremental backups which is very important for space saving. I run the "Incrementals forever" mode with 30 days retention on my most important machines at home and at work too. Unfortunately Macrium raised their prices at the start of the year, especially on some of the business products, so I will be looking at other options when renewal time comes around again. (to be fair I'll probably stick with them and just not upgrade the licenses until push comes to shove)

Last edited:

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Windows also has built in backup capability but I recommend steering clear of it. I got burned by their full OS disk backup when, upon trying to restore an image, it turned out the restore function was deprecated and non functional. Then I could never get the file history feature to prune its backup sets so it would inevitably fill up whatever storage device you targeted and then stop working without telling you anything was wrong.

cyberwolf_uk

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I use Synology "Active Backup for Business" its free for any Synology device with unlimited licences. I use it as a "Bare Metal" backup of Windows / Ubuntu machinces. If they fail I can simply recover the files or restore the complete system if a hard drive goes down.