Wireless Monitor

Seth01123

n3wb
Reaction score
I am trying to setup a camera monitor in my house and the location of the monitor would make it difficult to hard wire so I am looking at wireless options. I like the idea of using a tv with a fire tv box to access ui3 using the silk browser. I have a dual nic setup. I am really new to networking and I followed the dual nic setup guide in the wiki and it works great. But my understanding is very limited and I’m not sure if this would even work.

Is it possible to add an AP to my cam network on the 2nd nic to allow the tv to access ui3?

I know this will work on my normal internet connected WiFi network but I want to know if it’s possible on my cam network that does not have any internet connection.
Maybe I’m being paranoid about security. Are there any concerns with having a 24/7 monitor accessing ui3 on my normal WiFi network? Would this pose any unwanted exposure to hacking?
I have an old netgear ac router that I could turn into an AP. Any feedback or suggestions are appreciated, thanks!

Reaction score
I am trying to setup a camera monitor in my house and the location of the monitor would make it difficult to hard wire so I am looking at wireless options. I like the idea of using a tv with a fire tv box to access ui3 using the silk browser. I have a dual nic setup. I am really new to networking and I followed the dual nic setup guide in the wiki and it works great. But my understanding is very limited and I’m not sure if this would even work.

Is it possible to add an AP to my cam network on the 2nd nic to allow the tv to access ui3?

I know this will work on my normal internet connected WiFi network but I want to know if it’s possible on my cam network that does not have any internet connection.
Maybe I’m being paranoid about security. Are there any concerns with having a 24/7 monitor accessing ui3 on my normal WiFi network? Would this pose any unwanted exposure to hacking?