Wireless/ Remote Access Question

labsr4me

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a novice at this, so please forgive my questions if they are rudimentary to some.

I have a Foscam 8910W cam...

I have google fiber

I have connected the cam to my network box and port forwarded to 8XXX

My Access:

1) When I am on my home wifi I can access the cam on my desktop, Ipad Air and Iphone 6 using the LAN address of 192.168.1.XX:8XXX

2) When I am on my sprint data on my work Ipad Air or Iphone 6, I can access the cam using the Router WAN 99.198.xxx.xxx:8XXX

3) When I am on my AT&T data on my personal Ipad Air, I can access the cam using the Router WAN 99.198.xxx.xxx:8XXX

4) When I get to work and am on my company's intranet on my laptop, I cannot access the cam using the Router WAN 99.198.xxx.xxx:8XXX

My Wife's Access:

1) When I tried to show my wife how to access the cam while on the home wifi using her Macbook or her IPhone 5- neither hardware was able to access the cam using either the LAN or the WAN address.

2) When I am on AT&T Data on my wife's iphone 5, I can access the cam using the Router WAN 99.198.xxx.xxx:8XXX

My Questions:

1) Why can I connect on my work Ipad and Iphone 6 and personal ipad when I am connected to the home wifi and use the LAN address, but my wife's Macbook and Iphone cannot?

2) Why can I connect on my Sprint and AT&T data plans using the WAN address (meaning it's available remotely) but I can't access it remotely using the same WAN address from my company's intranet?

Thanks for any help.
- John

Last edited by a moderator:

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
First of all, congratulations for living in one of the few areas with non-lame internet access!

Getting to your questions:

1) Did you enter the address/port number yourself on your wife's devices? How sure are you that there was not a typo? Is it possible your wife's devices are connected to the wrong network or to a guest network that has internet access only (no local access)?