$2M House Install (est. 1925)

CastleSurveillance

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I own my own camera company - and have been doing great - I have some experienced guys on the team and there hasn't been any job we haven't been able to tackle yet...

However, this one threw me for a loop today.

House was made in 1925 - it's essentially a fortress, it's made of solid limestone. Interior is all plaster walls. To my knowledge - there are no hollow cavities for me to go down. Has a very weird, old, roof/gutter set up - So, where I would usually mount cameras on soffits - the soffits don't really exist, they are made of gutter, so I can't drill/mount there.

I thought of Parapet mounts... but this is a beautiful house, and lets be honest - they'd look terrible hanging off the roof like that.

Anyone tackled a house like this before? Where did you mount the cameras?

Home owner wants them to be as minimally noticeable as possible - so running an elaborate run of Conduit is out of the question.

Once I get the wire into the attic - there's plenty of runs to chase into the basement and go from there. It's more so getting the cameras mounted that is the issue.

Attachments

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi @CastleSurveillance

How did the electricians run the new electrical lines? ( houses from 1925 certainly needed to have their electrical upgraded )

I do not see how to meet the requirement "minimally noticeable" unless you find some nice stone gargoyles to insert the cameras into.

catcamstar

Known around here
Reaction score
Indeed, nothing worse than creating "scars" into such a beautiful house! Maybe you can try to use the "environment" to monitor the house - I see potential spots around the poles of that pergola/veranda at the pool, but also from "above" the wall on "quote 4" picture which has great view on the 3 windows and door - you might be leverage a hidden cam in the pot (filming the door) on "quote 1".