Active Deterrence Series

Peachs

Young grasshopper
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
58
Reaction score
12
Location
Europe
Is it possible to activate the included siren manually? For example, if intrusion is detected in another area of the home, activate it manually

What is the sound power (db)?

I don't have an outside siren, and I thought it might be a solution but I can't change all the cameras ...
 

genelit

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 4, 2018
Messages
153
Reaction score
171
Location
Sweden
Yes, you can do that. Easiest using DMSS app. You can also talk thought the app and thought the camera speaker.

Don't know the dB but it's loud enough IMO at least when using the siren (there are other sounds) you can set the volume level in the camera.
 

Peachs

Young grasshopper
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
58
Reaction score
12
Location
Europe
Yes, you can do that. Easiest using DMSS app. You can also talk thought the app and thought the camera speaker.

Don't know the dB but it's loud enough IMO at least when using the siren (there are other sounds) you can set the volume level in the camera.
Thanks!

Yes, I always use the DMSS app (IOS). So, allows the siren to be activated remotely without detection?
Can the volume of the siren be comparable to an outdoor siren of a conventional alarm?
 

holiday

Pulling my weight
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
273
Reaction score
176
Location
Having a holiday
the siren is annoying.. u can make it louder by setting speaker volume to max.

u can also activate it without the app by calling the http api command on a normal web browser


Play sound (siren)
ON:

OFF:

If u want to play with the lights as well see the below thread.

 

Peachs

Young grasshopper
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
58
Reaction score
12
Location
Europe
the siren is annoying.. u can make it louder by setting speaker volume to max.

u can also activate it without the app by calling the http api command on a normal web browser


Play sound (siren)
ON:

OFF:

If u want to play with the lights as well see the below thread.

Thanks!! Lastly, it might be cheaper for me to add a siren to the PTZ. If I connect it with an alarm output, can it be activated manually also from the APP? It may be cheaper and faster than changing a camera.
 

holiday

Pulling my weight
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
273
Reaction score
176
Location
Having a holiday
sure.. anything can be done.. if u have the know how.

it is Just a matter of getting the parts ( maybe the siren, relays, power supply etc) and wire them up with the ptz camera
I will be worrying about how to keep them waterproof..

U should be able to activate it by clicking on Relay out or alarm out or watever it is called either in the app or the web interface.


Else u can do the same thing and activate it via a api if required. (Read the API file or google for it if you dont have one.)


the easiest way will be to do it in BI with out anything extra.
If PTZ detect an event that need to activate the Active Deterrence camera's siren, put in the http api link in the "alert tab"

1622604901033.png
 

Peachs

Young grasshopper
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
58
Reaction score
12
Location
Europe
sure.. anything can be done.. if u have the know how.

it is Just a matter of getting the parts ( maybe the siren, relays, power supply etc) and wire them up with the ptz camera
I will be worrying about how to keep them waterproof..

U should be able to activate it by clicking on Relay out or alarm out or watever it is called either in the app or the web interface.


Else u can do the same thing and activate it via a api if required. (Read the API file or google for it if you dont have one.)


the easiest way will be to do it in BI with out anything extra.
If PTZ detect an event that need to activate the Active Deterrence camera's siren, put in the http api link in the "alert tab"

View attachment 91247
Dahua SD49225XA

I suppose there is no need for a relay or power supply to simply connect to an alarm output, the siren. I understand that any 12vdc is worth. By activating the output, it powers the siren and it works.
 

holiday

Pulling my weight
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
273
Reaction score
176
Location
Having a holiday
u can do that but i would personally prefer to put in a relay to physically seperate the 2 devices.
 

Peachs

Young grasshopper
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
58
Reaction score
12
Location
Europe
u can do that but i would personally prefer to put in a relay to physically seperate the 2 devices.
Can you attach a photo of the relay that you would put? As a personal opinion, which option do you like the most? (ptz + siren or new camera active deterrence)
 

holiday

Pulling my weight
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
273
Reaction score
176
Location
Having a holiday
one of these from ebay will do. up to u.. but i will go for the active deterence camera, has lights/mic/speaker all built in and best of all it's water proof!


1622611874384.png
 

Peachs

Young grasshopper
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
58
Reaction score
12
Location
Europe
one of these from ebay will do. up to u.. but i will go for the active deterence camera, has lights/mic/speaker all built in and best of all it's water proof!


View attachment 91251

Because of the rain there are no problems, there are sirens with protection like that. The connection with the camera, in a watertight box. The problem of the Dahua camera is possibly the volume, will it be higher than 100db ??
 

holiday

Pulling my weight
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
273
Reaction score
176
Location
Having a holiday
i think the dahua one goes up to 110dB but if you want really loud one .then you need to use what you have posted.
 

holiday

Pulling my weight
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
273
Reaction score
176
Location
Having a holiday
any of the
IPC-T5X41H-AS-PV or 3X49H-AS-PV if you want full time colour and siren lights

or talk to Andy to see what he has in stock?
 

MC1987

Young grasshopper
Joined
Apr 5, 2018
Messages
32
Reaction score
5
Yes, you can do that. Easiest using DMSS app. You can also talk thought the app and thought the camera speaker.

Don't know the dB but it's loud enough IMO at least when using the siren (there are other sounds) you can set the volume level in the camera.
110db @ 1 Metre
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
5,992
Reaction score
8,362
Location
USA
The volume of the 3X49H-AS-PV camera alarm not really comparable to an outdoor siren of a conventional alarm. The conventional alarm is much louder.
Also the quality of Dahua 3849H-AS-PV camera is really bad. Cannot recommend at all. Lots of problems with loosing connection, motion detection and flickering video.
Well that camera is an 8MP on a 1/2.8" sensor, or the same sensor as a 2MP, so of course it will struggle if you do not have enough light.

You also have to run a higher bitrate.

Go with the 2MP and 4MP versions as they are comparable in quality to their respective 2.8 or 3.6mm lens equivalents without active deterrence.
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
5,992
Reaction score
8,362
Location
USA
Well, there is only so much an 8MP camera can do on a 1/2.8" sensor....buyer beware purchasing an inferior MP/sensor ratio...

Have you tried custom and cranked it up higher and lowered FPS and running latest firmware?

But yes many have reported troubles with that camera and you are aware of that and participated in those threads.

Like I said, the 2MP and 4MP are fine.
 
Top