Adding IP cameras to HikVision NVR DS-7616NI-E2/8P/A

domelsnake

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Was wondering if someone can help at all.

I'm new to HikVision NVR and have some troubles adding new cameras to it.

HikVision DS-7616NI-E2/8P/A, and HikVsion IP camera DS-2CD2042WD-I.

I have internal network of 10.20.30.X/24.

IP camera has been given static IP of 10.20.30.11

LAN interface of NVR has been connected to my router and allocated an IP of 10.20.30.6 by DHCP - NVR accessible via web browser - no problems here.

NVR has 8 PoE interfaces with pre-configured IP addresses from 192.168.254.2 to 192.168.254.9

Ip camera connected to the same router as NVR and assigned a static IP address of 10.20.30.11 - camera accessible via web browser port 8081 (server port configured to 8001) - all works fine here.

I can use iVMS4500 on my iPhone successfully for live view - what I'm trying to say here is the port is correct as well as username and password.

The problem is when trying to add cameras to my NVR:

I have tried to move my camera from the router to one of the PoE interfaces of the NVR (interface1) and reconfigured IP address assigned to it from 192.168.254.2 to 10.20.30.11 but no luck - Offline (Network Abnormal).

IP of the camera isn't pingable at all.

I have connected the camera back to the router (camera accessible, ip pingable) and have tried to add a new camera with correct IP address of (10.20.30.11), management port 8001, username: admin, passowrd: ****** but no luck here either - new interface D09 creaaed - Offline (Network Abnormal).

What am I missing here?

How are those 8x PoE interfaces configured as it look like this is not just a built-in PoE switch but something more - router perhaps?

Ok so I have found this Video which explained a little bit:

So I have logged in to my camera via web browser and changed the IP of it to 192.168.254.2; mask 255.255.255.0; gateway: 192.168.254.1 - this is what is setup for the internal NVR switch.