Adding Old Night Owl Analog Cameras to Blue Iris through Axis P7214

QuickbeamX

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am new to surveillance systems and recently moved into a new home. There are 8 Night Owl 3.0 analog cameras (BNC and power cables already run) currently installed outside the home. There is no Night Owl DVR which I understand to be terrible anyway. I have a new computer dedicated for this purpose and I hope to use Blue Iris (5.9.4.5) as an NVR. I bought a pair of Axis P7214 encoders for this as well, however, I cannot seem to get any feed into Blue Iris. I am sure that I am doing something wrong when configuring the network IP address but have tried a handful of things without any luck. I did set a new password through the Axis interface and have it typed in correctly for the steps I took below.

I only have one camera powered and connected to the encoder to fiddle with until I figure this out. When I use ONVIF discovery I see the following:
CameraDiscovery.png

When I highlight the device and click "OK" I get the following:

ONVIFInsepction.png

It does say "RTSP Port Detected" which gives me hope, and here are the fields that are automatically populating after the inspection:

DeviceInfo.png

After accepting these settings I just get "Cam1: No Signal, RTSP: 500 Internal Server Error"

I have downloaded the Axis IP Utility program but I am not sure what I should do with it. I would appreciate any help you all are willing to offer. I know there is a bit of a learning curve for me here, but I hope to get this system operational without replacing the cameras and (god forbid) having to re-run all of the cables throughout the house. Thank you.

Valiant

Pulling my weight
Reaction score