Advice Needed on Camera Selection

zcline

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey All,

I've been lurking on this forum for a while. I'm a network engineer, specifically technology integration for various professional sports. I have an understanding of multicast video, focal lengths, aperture, FoV, CMOS, but I am green when it comes to evaluating IP Cameras and would love to get it right the first time.

I'm looking to have coverage of all the windows of my house with either dome or turret style cameras, but I'm not sure if I've come up with the best solution. I'm leaning towards turrets but would be thrilled for any advice. This is what I'm battling with:
  • Is 4MP enough or jump to 4K? If a person crosses the red shaded area (see below) I want to have a clear view of who they are.
  • Is there a preferred style camera/lens to cover the narrow sides of the house? Would >4mm be recommended or could I simply rotate the turret in "portrait mode" in order to utilize the field of view.
  • Looking for something that excels at night.
  • Any advice on a garage camera? I would assume 4MP or even 2MP would be enough.
Coverage areas are shaded in red:

Home Survelliance.png

Thank you all for your help!

Last edited:

zcline

n3wb
Reaction score
To add:

I am looking into purchasing from Nelly's as the reviews from this forum are very positive. My plan is to use Blue Iris in a Virtual Machine and wire each location back to my network closet's PoE switch. I feel confident in my network plan but lack the experience with these types of cameras. Any help with pointing me in a solid direction would be appreciated!

Last edited:

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hey All,

I've been lurking on this forum for a while. I'm a network engineer, specifically technology integration for various professional sports. I have an understanding of multicast video, focal lengths, aperture, FoV, CMOS, but I am green when it comes to evaluating IP Cameras and would love to get it right the first time.