Alternative to DMSS?

Soundchasr

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi All:

I have Dahua cameras and an NVR at my vacation home. I've been using them for a couple of years. I'm not too fond of the DMSS app. It's just a lot of work to do pretty much anything. Even when I know there was an event it's tedious to find. I've thrown a couple Wyze cameras down there so I can check on things quickly.

My question is - are there any alternative apps/programs to monitor and access the cameras on the Dahua NVR?

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Friendly PSA - This isn't Facebook LOL and you don't need to put in a "follow" post if you want to be updated on a post. Simply go to top right and select Watch....

1672604232057.png

For something other than DMSS, you can use any of the free or paid apps on your phone. Simply go to the Playstore and type in Security Camera and look at one that you think meets your needs.

Soundchasr

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
For something other than DMSS, you can use any of the free or paid apps on your phone. Simply go to the Playstore and type in Security Camera and look at one that you think meets your needs.
Do you have any specific example that works with Dahua? Searching for "Security Camera" in the Play Store brings up things like Ring, Eufy, Blink, etc. None of those would work.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
It has been awhile since I have gone that route, but I think Tinycam, IP Cam Viewer, Onvier, etc. can pull in those feeds.

Soundchasr

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I got tired of the slowness and trouble finding stuff with DMSS, so I went to Blue Iris and never looked back. I feed the NVR into BI.
I'm not familiar with Blue Iris. Based on your description (feeding NVR into BI) is it something that runs on a PC? If it fixes all the DMSS issues, I'd definitely look into it.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score