Anyone running 8th gen Intel without memory leak problems in Blue Iris?

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,499
Reaction score
8,596
Location
USA
I've been considering an upgrade from my i7-3770K to i7-8700K so I can crank up frame rates, but it seems like people have been having trouble finding a graphics driver that works with 8th generation but doesn't suffer the damned memory leak. 8th Gen I7-8700 Intel Graphics 630 -100% CPU issue

Has anyone had success with an 8th gen (-8xxx) CPU and Blue Iris with hardware acceleration and definitely no memory leak?


Update


I came up with a solution to the memory leak problem for 8th-Generation CPUs. It is a little more complex than simply "install this driver version", but not by much!

I've written full details into the wiki page on the hardware acceleration leak: Memory Leak: Quick Sync (Hardware Acceleration) | IP Cam Talk
 
Last edited:

philipzeo

n3wb
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
6
I am running the 7th gen - i7-6700 cpu and had to go back to this driver to get rid of the leak:

Intel-HD-Graphics-510-530-630-Driver_RX7DR_WIN_21.20.16.4565_A02_01
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,499
Reaction score
8,596
Location
USA
I am running the 7th gen - i7-6700 cpu and had to go back to this driver to get rid of the leak:

Intel-HD-Graphics-510-530-630-Driver_RX7DR_WIN_21.20.16.4565_A02_01
... not helpful since I believe 8th gen graphics don't work with drivers as old as that one ...

And also i7-6700 is 6th gen, not 7th as you just said.
 

bctrainers

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Location
Olathe, KS
I decided to give it a try, and ordered parts. System Builder - Core i7-8700K 3.7GHz 6-Core, Core V1 Mini ITX Desktop - PCPartPicker

Since this is my first Mini ITX build, I chose a relatively spacious ITX case to make it a bit easier.
Good part selection there, however that TT case might be a little cramped once you fit in the PSU. It's a slight amount larger than the case i have, the Coolermaster Elite 110. The Silverstone Tek SG13BQ might be a better alternative?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00U8IS8BW/ or SilverStone SG13B-Q Black Plastic front panel, steel body Mini-ITX Computer Case Optional standard PS2(ATX) Power Supply - Newegg.com
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,499
Reaction score
8,596
Location
USA
Actually one of the main reasons I chose this case is that the PSU mounts below the motherboard and leaves a lot of space for a CPU cooler, whereas the Silverstone (and Cooler Master 110 / 130 if I recall) have much less clearance. I think...
 

bctrainers

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Location
Olathe, KS
Actually one of the main reasons I chose this case is that the PSU mounts below the motherboard and leaves a lot of space for a CPU cooler, whereas the Silverstone (and Cooler Master 110 / 130 if I recall) have much less clearance. I think...
You're not wrong with the clearance portion! About an inch and a half of space with a stock intel cooler, and just shy of 2 inches with a noctua cooler on the Elite 110. PSU is a Corsair 500 watt (going by memory there) full-modular PSU.
 

Roye

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 23, 2016
Messages
43
Reaction score
2
I got my new PC with i7 8700K. I am waiting to receive more cameras as I run only 2 cameras right now recording 24/7. CPU look fine with 5%-7% load all the time. I don't notice any memory leak till now.
 

Attachments

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,499
Reaction score
8,596
Location
USA
I got BI running on the new machine. CPU usage is way, way down.

On the old i7-3770K box, my 660 MP/s load (23 cameras) was requiring 27% cpu usage for the BlueIris.exe process, and 32% overall CPU usage. Now on the i7-8700K it is 12% cpu usage for the BlueIris.exe process, and 13% overall CPU usage.

Similarly, when I have the GUI open @ 4K resolution @ 5 FPS the CPU usage was 50%, but now is 20% (I didn't even move the nvidia graphics card into the new box -- I suppose I could test and see if it helps now). This upgrade has certainly achieved what I want. I now have lots of headroom for increasing frame rates, both the camera streaming frame rates and the live preview frame rates.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,499
Reaction score
8,596
Location
USA
No sign of a memory leak yet either, having just installed the Intel Graphics Driver 15.60.2.4901 released Dec 28, 2017. Time will tell.
 

SantiagoDraco

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 8, 2017
Messages
127
Reaction score
51
I got BI running on the new machine. CPU usage is way, way down.

On the old i7-3770K box, my 660 MP/s load (23 cameras) was requiring 27% cpu usage for the BlueIris.exe process, and 32% overall CPU usage. Now on the i7-8700K it is 12% cpu usage for the BlueIris.exe process, and 13% overall CPU usage.

Similarly, when I have the GUI open @ 4K resolution @ 5 FPS the CPU usage was 50%, but now is 20% (I didn't even move the nvidia graphics card into the new box -- I suppose I could test and see if it helps now). This upgrade has certainly achieved what I want. I now have lots of headroom for increasing frame rates, both the camera streaming frame rates and the live preview frame rates.
BP, were you using an Nvidia GPU for hardware acceleration (rather than Intel integrated?) I posted elsehwere about this (ie if it works well with BI) but didn't get a response. I was thinking of adding a 1050 to my box since it's a Xeon based server and doesn't have integrated graphics. Thanks :)
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,499
Reaction score
8,596
Location
USA
No, hardware acceleration is only supported in Blue Iris via "Quick Sync Video" which is Intel-only.

The Nvidia card in my old server was because I had no other way to output 4K video at 60hz, and at the time I discovered that having the Nvidia card feed the monitor resulted in less CPU usage by Blue Iris's GUI.
 

SantiagoDraco

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 8, 2017
Messages
127
Reaction score
51
Gotcha. Too bad, I was really hoping I could use Nvidia HVEC acceleration. Looks like once I expand past a certain point I may need to build another system for my NVR. Thanks.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,499
Reaction score
8,596
Location
USA
Nah, this board has wifi built in and I hadn't attached the antennas. Many Mini-ITX boards have built-in wifi for some reason.
 

bctrainers

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Location
Olathe, KS
What are the coax connections for? Tv tuner? Nice Rig.
Those are SMA connectors for 2.4/5Ghz wifi connectivity. Just about every ITX board since 2014/2015 give or take, has this in some form or another. Only one mITX board that i have does not have wifi, but dual Ethernet ports in its place. Would be rather neat if those SMA plugs were dual purpose and could pick up digital TV signals. :p
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,499
Reaction score
8,596
Location
USA
While I'm not sure it is fair to call it a memory leak, there certainly IS a performance problem with the latest Intel driver (15.60.2.4901) on i7-8700K. This performance monitor graph shows CPU usage rising much more rapidly than memory usage. Make no mistake, memory usage is rising too, but the system would be bogged down by elevated CPU usage long before it ran out of memory.



I'm determined to resolve this one way or another. Currently I'm trying a fresh run, having replaced the files in C:\Program Files\Intel\Media SDK with files from the zipped version of a .4664 driver (which is normally unable to be installed on 8th-gen systems).

Update: Problem solved.
 
Last edited:
Top