Anyone running 8th gen Intel without memory leak problems in Blue Iris?

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by bp2008, Jan 8, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    I've been considering an upgrade from my i7-3770K to i7-8700K so I can crank up frame rates, but it seems like people have been having trouble finding a graphics driver that works with 8th generation but doesn't suffer the damned memory leak. 8th Gen I7-8700 Intel Graphics 630 -100% CPU issue

    Has anyone had success with an 8th gen (-8xxx) CPU and Blue Iris with hardware acceleration and definitely no memory leak?


    Update


    I came up with a solution to the memory leak problem for 8th-Generation CPUs. It is a little more complex than simply "install this driver version", but not by much!

    I've written full details into the wiki page on the hardware acceleration leak: Memory Leak: Quick Sync (Hardware Acceleration) | IP Cam Talk
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2018
  2. philipzeo

    philipzeo n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am running the 7th gen - i7-6700 cpu and had to go back to this driver to get rid of the leak:

    Intel-HD-Graphics-510-530-630-Driver_RX7DR_WIN_21.20.16.4565_A02_01
     
    Xicaque likes this.
  3. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    ... not helpful since I believe 8th gen graphics don't work with drivers as old as that one ...

    And also i7-6700 is 6th gen, not 7th as you just said.
     
  4. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
  5. bctrainers

    bctrainers n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
    Good part selection there, however that TT case might be a little cramped once you fit in the PSU. It's a slight amount larger than the case i have, the Coolermaster Elite 110. The Silverstone Tek SG13BQ might be a better alternative?

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00U8IS8BW/ or SilverStone SG13B-Q Black Plastic front panel, steel body Mini-ITX Computer Case Optional standard PS2(ATX) Power Supply - Newegg.com
     
  6. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    Actually one of the main reasons I chose this case is that the PSU mounts below the motherboard and leaves a lot of space for a CPU cooler, whereas the Silverstone (and Cooler Master 110 / 130 if I recall) have much less clearance. I think...
     
    bctrainers likes this.
  7. bctrainers

    bctrainers n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
    You're not wrong with the clearance portion! About an inch and a half of space with a stock intel cooler, and just shy of 2 inches with a noctua cooler on the Elite 110. PSU is a Corsair 500 watt (going by memory there) full-modular PSU.
     
  8. Roye

    Roye Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my new PC with i7 8700K. I am waiting to receive more cameras as I run only 2 cameras right now recording 24/7. CPU look fine with 5%-7% load all the time. I don't notice any memory leak till now.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    Mine arrived last night. I'm very pleased with this ITX case.

    [​IMG]

    I haven't installed BI on it yet.
     
    MacFun, Tinman, looney2ns and 2 others like this.
  10. Roye

    Roye Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    Hehe full towers... I'm pretty sure your case, empty, weights more than mine, full.
     
  12. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    I got BI running on the new machine. CPU usage is way, way down.

    On the old i7-3770K box, my 660 MP/s load (23 cameras) was requiring 27% cpu usage for the BlueIris.exe process, and 32% overall CPU usage. Now on the i7-8700K it is 12% cpu usage for the BlueIris.exe process, and 13% overall CPU usage.

    Similarly, when I have the GUI open @ 4K resolution @ 5 FPS the CPU usage was 50%, but now is 20% (I didn't even move the nvidia graphics card into the new box -- I suppose I could test and see if it helps now). This upgrade has certainly achieved what I want. I now have lots of headroom for increasing frame rates, both the camera streaming frame rates and the live preview frame rates.
     
    looney2ns, techfun and Xicaque like this.
  13. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    No sign of a memory leak yet either, having just installed the Intel Graphics Driver 15.60.2.4901 released Dec 28, 2017. Time will tell.
     
  14. SantiagoDraco

    SantiagoDraco Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    43
    BP, were you using an Nvidia GPU for hardware acceleration (rather than Intel integrated?) I posted elsehwere about this (ie if it works well with BI) but didn't get a response. I was thinking of adding a 1050 to my box since it's a Xeon based server and doesn't have integrated graphics. Thanks :)
     
  15. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    No, hardware acceleration is only supported in Blue Iris via "Quick Sync Video" which is Intel-only.

    The Nvidia card in my old server was because I had no other way to output 4K video at 60hz, and at the time I discovered that having the Nvidia card feed the monitor resulted in less CPU usage by Blue Iris's GUI.
     
  16. SantiagoDraco

    SantiagoDraco Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    43
    Gotcha. Too bad, I was really hoping I could use Nvidia HVEC acceleration. Looks like once I expand past a certain point I may need to build another system for my NVR. Thanks.
     
  17. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    5,670
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    What are the coax connections for? Tv tuner? Nice Rig.
     
  18. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    Nah, this board has wifi built in and I hadn't attached the antennas. Many Mini-ITX boards have built-in wifi for some reason.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  19. bctrainers

    bctrainers n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
    Those are SMA connectors for 2.4/5Ghz wifi connectivity. Just about every ITX board since 2014/2015 give or take, has this in some form or another. Only one mITX board that i have does not have wifi, but dual Ethernet ports in its place. Would be rather neat if those SMA plugs were dual purpose and could pick up digital TV signals. :p
     
  20. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,770
    Likes Received:
    5,849
    While I'm not sure it is fair to call it a memory leak, there certainly IS a performance problem with the latest Intel driver (15.60.2.4901) on i7-8700K. This performance monitor graph shows CPU usage rising much more rapidly than memory usage. Make no mistake, memory usage is rising too, but the system would be bogged down by elevated CPU usage long before it ran out of memory.

    [​IMG]

    I'm determined to resolve this one way or another. Currently I'm trying a fresh run, having replaced the files in C:\Program Files\Intel\Media SDK with files from the zipped version of a .4664 driver (which is normally unable to be installed on 8th-gen systems).

    Update: Problem solved.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2018
    looney2ns, Mike A. and fenderman like this.