Awesome Forums - Interested in Your Thoughts...

TropDayz

n3wb
Reaction score
I have been testing and reviewing webcams for several years - primarily WiFi, residential models - each requiring using their own app, etc.

I write reviews for Vine, and have for a few years, so I have a plethora of cameras / POE switches / NVRs / cables / routers / etc.

I plan on moving in the next 10-11 months to another state and at that time I am going to completely redo my camera system.

I have been researching Blue Iris and thus far it seems the best all around software to use.

Here are some questions I have:

What brand cameras has everyone had the best luck with? I will be looking for pan / tilt / zoom - some outdoor / some indoor. I prefer POE for security reasons but can VPN if necessary.

I have a AMD 9 3900X, 32GB with GeForce GTX 1660 Ti that I work on all the time but I also have a HP Compaq Elite 8300 Ultra-Slim Desktop that is not being used which could be devoted solely to the security system. Which would be preferable?

I use a Synology DS1019+ - is it worth using this for security storage or does it make more sense to store within a separate system all together?

Since I’m not on a time crunch and am looking at the potential of putting a system together prior to moving - where are the best places to shop in terms of quality products at the best prices?

I appreciate any thoughts you may have...

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
It is very easy to block jam WiFi. I would never recommend Wifi for any security or surveillance application. Hardwired alarm system and hardwired cameras.

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. As others have stated, read the WIKI and the Cliff Notes.

Most folks here that use BI have either Dahua or Hikvision. I personally have 19 Dahua cams on my BI server and a couple of WIFI cams that I bought BEFORE I came to this forum. They go offline several times a day. WIFI for cams is not recommended.