Becoming a Cop?

IReallyLikePizza2

Known around here
Reaction score
Has anyone thought about joining their local police force? I work in IT and make good money, but I don't like how quickly some of the skills and resume points go out of date. I think I could work my way back up to my current pay in a few years if I become a LEO, and those skills last for life and will always have good part time/off-duty side jobs waiting

I hopefully could also resolve all my own problems...

biggen

Known around here
Reaction score
I would never have the patience to deal with the scum of society. Everything is filmed nowadays and if you do anything borderline (whether justified or not), it's your ass. God bless the ones that do it though. We would be screwed without them.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Has anyone thought about joining their local police force? I work in IT and make good money, but I don't like how quickly some of the skills and resume points go out of date. I think I could work my way back up to my current pay in a few years if I become a LEO, and those skills last for life and will always have good part time/off-duty side jobs waiting

Please reserve ireallylikedonuts screen name...

Last edited:

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score

I know someone who worked for a police department in a technical role (he didn't carry a badge and gun). The job didn't pay very well and he had limited advancement opportunities. Went back to college (where I met him) and now works for JPL. I also know someone who worked in cyber crime at a local sheriff's dept and carried a badge and gun who seemed happier with his much longer LEO career.

Various federal agencies could be another path, but due to the pension system probably better suited to a longer career.

Keizer

Getting comfortable
Reaction score