Beginners set for video surveillance

pitagor79

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am planning to buy 6 cameras - 4 outdoor and 2 indoor. I am completely new to this and spent a few days reading the forum.
I've a house in the countryside where nobody lives in the winter. I am going to use WiFi, I know that the wired is better but I don't want to have wires running all over the place. My choice regarding the outside cameras
- 4 cameras - DS-2CD2132F-IWS - http://www.hikvision.com/UploadFile/image/2014101515575593722.pdf
I am not sure what is the best camera's positioning. To be able to help me I am posting pictures of all side of the house.
So here is my suggestion
1. North side

2. South side

3. East side - Cam 4 view

4. West side - Cam 2 view

For the cameras 2 and 4 I think to take them with 4mm lenses, am I right?
The distance from the house to the fence is less then 3 meters for both sides.

For cameras 1 and 3 I am not sure about the lenses and positioning?

Cheers
Georgi

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum...your pictures did not upload properly...
As far as wifi, keep in mind that you will need to supply the cameras with power so you may as well run ethernet and power the camera over a single cable...pay someone to run cable - it will be worth it.

pitagor79

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi Fenderman,

I've attached them again. I am a software engineer and also one of my hobby is related to the electronics so I think I am able to run the cables. But as I said don't want so many cables in the house. I'll run only power cable for each camera. Otherwise I need to run cable through the entire house... it's not an option for me.
Regarding cameras positioning, is there some rule how to calculate the height. What about Cam 1 and 3 lenses - 4 or 6 mm., which I should take?

Cheers,
Georgi

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Fenderman,