Best cameras with cross platform/browser support for a Linux user?

jasauders

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi there, friends. Just joined here -- figured it was time given a huge magnitude of my search results came back to this forum. So yeah, hi. :)

I have what I feel is a unique circumstance, though maybe not, I guess we'll find out. I work in IT and have been using Linux for several years exclusively. My CCTV setup at home is a mish-mash, running Motion (from the software repositories) on my Ubuntu Server which pulls in JPG feeds from my two Vivotek cameras. This takes just a single jpg snapshot during an event. This serves as an "event identifier" to me to sort out false alarms vs, oh wait, something actually happened there, better check the video feeds, etc etc. Meanwhile, the cameras themselves are running Save-To-NAS functionality by recording 24/7 to the server in their own specific directories (i.e. /media/vault/front-cam-video, /media/vault/front-cam-motion, etc). So the MJPG stream is being utilized by "Motion" at a low FPS while a higher FPS is being ran for full time feeds. This way I can browse through actual JPG snapshots by hitting next/next/next/next and when need be, click on the corresponding video feed to those motion JPG captures. Works well, quite bulletproof, no fuss. Just the way I like it.

My dad recently asked me to set up a CCTV system at his house. He's starting with 2 cameras, and is unlikely to deviate from that given the way his property is laid out. Being fully aware of my IT background and knowing I can fix things should they come up, whereas my dad is a very different person who's mechanically minded - not computer minded - I acknowledge that my setup might not be the most logical fit.